02
Mar
11

Hideous and Delicious

I’ve somehow managed to make the ugliest, yummiest drink that I have ever tasted.  I was set to blend up a green monster this morning.  I ended up making more of a brown monster than anything green.  It probably won’t be made again on St. Patrick’s Day, but I might have to drink it daily between now and then.  I think a certain Chocolate-Covered girl would be proud! Behold..

 Chocolate-Covered Strawberry Brown Monster:

  • 3 oz. frozen chopped spinach
  • 3 oz. frozen strawberries
  • 1 Tbsp cocoa (or my new favorite.. shown below!)
  • pinch of xanthan gum
  • pinch of guar gum
  • 1/2 serving protein powder (I used Syntrax Strawberry Mousse)
  • Stevia and lots of water to desired consistency and sweetness

It made a giant blender bottle + 1 full glass of smoothie all for a grand total of 103 calories, 0 g fat, 14 g carbs and 15 g protein!  That one full glass had my tummy bursting. 

I used a new find

I LOVE this stuff, despite the fact that it turns a pretty green drink brown.  I have been a dark chocolate fiend for years and this satisfies my cravings.  Forget the milk chocolate.  I need dark, delicious decadence!

I have plans this afternoon to whip up a recipe, with a few minor adaptations.  Stay tuned!

1 Response to “Hideous and Delicious”


  1. 03/03/2011 at 8:47 AM

    Just found your blog!

    I LOVE green monsters, great recipe! I’ll be making this for sure! That also has to be my fav cocoa poweder, but I agree it turns pretty green drinks brown 😦


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


