28
Jan
11

Shortcut? Not quite.

I love to bake breads.  Crusty artisan breads. Flavorful quick breads. Traditional holiday breads.  So I guess I sort of took a short cut when I whipped up something from a frozen bread dough.  I wouldn’t quite consider this a true shortcut, however, because it was equally as complicated labor-intensive as any of the aforementioned recipes.  The only downside to this dough was that it was so glutinous that it resisted rolling, but it finally caved to my intentions.

Truth be told, I really just waned to see if it came out as good as my own, kneaded bread.  I’ve only attempted 1 recipe, but it was so much fun that more will surely follow.  And yes, the bread itself might just be made (and then frozen) by someone else!

Cinnamon Nut Twists

 1 loaf frozen white or whole wheat bread dough
2 Tbs butter, melted
1 Tbs ground cinnamon
1/2 C granulated sugar
1/2 C walnuts or pecans, chopped
 
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Defrost bread loaf. Roll into a rectangle, approximately 8" x 12".

Brush dough liberally with melted butter, reserving about 25%.

 

In small bowl, combine cinnamon, sugar and nuts. Sprinkle over dough and press down firmly.

 

Fold dough in half and pinch edges to seal. Press down firmly again on entire half.

 

Cut dough into 12 slices with a sharp knife or pizza cutter (You will get spillage at this point - don't worry!).

 

Twist each slice twice and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment. Brush with remaining butter and sprinkle with any nut mixture that may have spilled.

Bake for 12-15 minutes until golden and serve warm!

I wish I could say that was my serving, but I reserved those for my parents.  It was cinnamony taste and aroma heaven and totally worth the little shortcut.. or as I like to think of it, alternative method of baking!  Most of the twists ventured into work for a surprise breakfast for the girls and they got raves.

I skipped indulging in this one.  My stomach was full of another version of some green stuff.

1 1/2 C spinach, 1 small apple, 1 small carrot and 1 serving lite silken tofu. Nom nom nom!

I’m fully energized from my cardio and shoulder workout this morning.  No shortcuts there!

3 Responses to “Shortcut? Not quite.”


  1. 01/28/2011 at 1:03 PM

    Those look amazing! Are they much different in texture than those made with puff pastry?


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


