27
Jan
11

My heart belongs to the green..

This green

How I do love just staring at him.  Tom Brady who?!  I am pretty darn excited about staring at him on February 6th too!  Yay Packers!!

But that’s not the “green” I am really in love with.  It’s this one –

That would be my first ever Green MonsterAngela very recently celebrated her 2nd anniversary and I decided to celebrate right along side by “attempting” to make one.  As a fan of spinach in both raw and cooked forms, and an expert on the taste of spinach, I was definitely not convinced that a shake containing so much spinach could mask that flavor.

I stand corrected.

Heidi’s Original Green Monster

2 servings lite silken tofu (192 grams of Nasoya)
3 C fresh spinach
1 small carrot (about 35 g)
1 small Fuji apple (about 90 g)
1/2 C water
1 dropper of liquid stevia

Throw it all in a blender.  Turn it on high and let ‘er rip.  This part required patience as it took a few minutes to come together.

Holy greenness was this AMAZING?!  I liked the little bit of richness and extra protein from the tofu. It stuck with me all afternoon too.  Yes, it looks quite icky, but all I tasted was the sweet tart apple and carrot combo.  The Green Monster is here to stay!  In fact, I picked up half of Trader Joe’s spinach supply today.  True story.

I had an awesome cardio, chest and back workout today so I do believe I need some recovery nutrition .  Forgive me for being brief, but I crave some green.  Since it likely won’t be in the form of Aaron Rodgers, a Monster will just have to do!

7 Responses to “My heart belongs to the green..”


  1. 01/27/2011 at 1:35 PM

    for the love of everything everywhere.. the packers better win!

  2. 01/27/2011 at 7:57 PM

    did you hear about the man getting fired due to the packer’s tie??

  3. 01/28/2011 at 7:26 AM

    It’s so hard for me to find fuji apples where I live-when I do I stalk up big time and go on a binge, haha! They’re so crisp and good!

    • 01/28/2011 at 8:07 AM

      They are my absolute favorite! I can’t stand red delicious – too mealy for me. If you can find Gala, Braeburn or Pink Lady varieties near you, they are just as good as Fuji. Very crisp with just a bit of tartness.


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


