19
Jan
11

Cats & Crunch

I get to spend this week with 2 little rascals –

I’m watching Norris & Jack while my parents enjoy the sunshine and warm breezes of the Bahamas.  Lucky them.. but lucky me too!  I love these guys.  They’re almost like dogs trapped in cat bodies.  I’d love to have some cats at our own place, but the pet deposit is ridiculous.

In any case, me + 2 cats mean that I am making a lot of single-lady meals.  For the past 2 nights it’s been easy throw-together stir fry.

A bit of chicken breast, a whole bag of spinach and Trader Joe’s Hodge Podge frozen veggies.  Yum!  I can’t complain about single meals and the kitties to keep me company while I’m away from the hubby.

Of course, I have to keep myself busy and that involves lots of cross stitching and a bit of baking.  I whipped up something this morning to appease my coworkers.  Rumor has it that they were getting antsy for another baked good.  I got my fill of cookies at Christmas so coffee cake it was!

Cinnamon Crunch Coffeecake

Cast of Characters

3/4 C butter, softened
1 C sugar
1/2 C brown sugar, packed
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 C all-purpose flour
1 C plain nonfat Greek yogurt
Streusel:
3/4 C brown sugar, packed
3/4 C chopped pecans (or walnuts)
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
In large bowl, beat butter, sugars, baking soda and powder, salt, cinnamon and vanilla until well combined. 

Beat in eggs, one at a time.  Then, beat in flour and yogurt, alternating additions.

Spoon into a lightly greased 9×13 pan. 

In small bowl, combine streusel ingredients and mix well.  Sprinkle over top batter.  Bake 30-35 minutes or until topping is dark, golden brown.

Let cool slightly.  Slice and enjoy!

Crunchy and soft – 2 very good things!  I think the girls at work will be pleased.

5 Responses to “Cats & Crunch”


  1. 01/20/2011 at 7:44 PM

    WOW that cake looks divine!

  2. 01/21/2011 at 8:22 AM

    I LOVE a good coffee cake! And this one looks perfect 🙂

  3. 01/25/2011 at 11:42 PM

    I WANT YOUR COFFEE CAKE! that looks so freaking delicious! i love the recipe too, makes a nice moist, and im guessing, totally sweet cheese cake too!! ❤

  4. 01/26/2011 at 7:04 AM

    Salad looks yum! And that cake-yes please!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


