11
Jan
11

Killer Kettlebells

I am very sorry, Mr. Spinning Bike.  I just cannot ever fall in love with you the way that I have with my dear friend, the kettlebell. In fact, I took the rest of my CSN winnings (Thanks again, Lily!) and bought a fun toy!

It has found a permanent place next to the tv in our bedroom and gets used at least once a week along side Ms. Jillian Michaels.  I wish she were here to train me, but I have to tune in to Exercise TV on demand to find her kettlebell workout.  It’s a seriously fun 30 minutes!  Not only that, but my gym has several classes each week and they are killer!!  Most enjoyable, but man.. do I feel them the next day!  I really wish I had found kettlebells sooner.  You can’t really beat a strength and cardio workout in one!

I hit a 45-minute kettlebell class this morning.  It’s an awesome format, but was so crowded.  Ugh.. resolutioners.  Good for them for wanting to get motivated, but must it be at 5am?  I have learned to love the quiet of a gym at this early hour.

The class starts with about 5 minutes of group warm up – torso twists, halos, swings – then we split into 5 or 6 stations and each exercise is done for 2 minutes for a total of 10 to 12 different exercises.  We finish with another 10-15 minutes of group work, repeating 5 or 6 of those same exercises.  Like I said, it’s killer.  I usually always burn between 600 and 700 calories in those 45 minutes.  (Is that enough numbers for you in 1 paragraph?!)

Speaking of numbers, my 2004 Toyota hit an awesome number on the odometer this morning on my way in to the gym:

Yes, I did say 2004 – a 7-year-old car has that many miles.. on the original engine and transmission.  You won’t ever catch me saying anything bad about Toyota!

I’m feeling super exhausted this morning so I’m planning to take it easy until work, which means dinner will be made by the crockpot, along with a new Trader Joe’s find!

I threw this in with some chicken and plan to shred it all up tonight when I get home and throw it on some tortillas with assorted toppings.  Can’t wait for the taste test!

PS – Lily is doing it again!  She’s having another CSN giveaway, so get your bootie on over there and enter to win (or don’t.. less people for me to compete with!).

3 Responses to “Killer Kettlebells”


  1. 01/11/2011 at 10:50 AM

    LOL – did you snap that picture of the odometer while driving?

    I have not tried kettlebells yet as my gym just has 1 bell and a ton of mirrors on every wall. It makes me scared 😀

  2. 01/11/2011 at 11:53 AM

    Awesome! I’m glad you enjoyed the gift card.

  3. 01/11/2011 at 12:23 PM

    I have never tried a kettlebell but all I hear are good things! I would love to give it a try!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


