17
Dec
10

Homebound workouts

I don’t know about you, but driving with the threat of icy roads or black ice scares the bejeezus out of me!  Luckily, I’m married to an expert driver who always gives me tips on how to drive in any given condition.  See his moves..

Fortunately, going out to drive when I don’t have to no longer annoys me.  In the past, if I couldn’t get myself to the gym, I got angry – unjustifiably angry.  Thank goodness for Exercise TV on demand and my latest purchase.  I was very lucky to win a contest that Lily held several months ago.  It took me a long time to decide what to get.  CSN, after all, is a very expansive website with far too many good things to choose from.

I ended up picking out something that I could use to accompany my Exercise TV workouts –

Adjustable 40 lb. Dumbell Set

Very cool, no?  I can interchange these to go from 5 lbs. up to 40 lbs. (or 20 lbs. each).  I broke them out today for my first at-home strength training set.

I didn’t use an on demand program, but threw together this superfast upper body routine:

  Weight Sets Reps
Bicep Curl 10# 3 21’s
Overhead Tricep Press 10# 3 10/arm
Bent-Over Lateral Raise 10# 3 10/arm
Chest Press 20# 3 15/arm
Lateral Delt Raise 10# 3 10/arm
Front Raise 10# 3 10/arm
Flye 10# 3 15/arm

I might hate myself for doing this routine this morning since I am planning to do a Kettlebell class tonight, but I simply couldn’t wait to bust open my new goodies.  (I’ve got something else coming too, but you’ll just have to wait to see what that is!)  Thanks again, Lily!  You made my day!

I’m off to pack my bags.  I get to spend the evening with this cutie (who you might recognize):

He’s got a new sister, too!  I promise to give you a peek at her cuteness too!

Do you get agitated when you’re stuck indoors?  How do you pass the time?

1 Response to “Homebound workouts”


  1. 12/17/2010 at 9:00 PM

    Sweet weights! I love stuff like that because there are no excuses when you have the stuff at home.

    Not much keeps me from getting out of the house if I really need to, but I usually have a big list of things that I will do if I have the time at home. When my husband takes the car on a weekend trip, he always comments about how productive I am when he goes away LOL!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


