12
Dec
10

Crack & Oaties

Sounds pleasant, no?  Trust me when I say that it’s more than pleasant.. it’s deeeelicious!

This weekend, while we finally got a break from temps in the 40’s, also brought rain.  Lots of it.  In accordance, I divided my time between the gym and the kitchen.  I whipped my leg muscles into shape, then whipped up some new things for our neighbor’s Christmas goodie plates.

Today’s workout left me very wobbly.  At this fabulous placecardio equipment is on the first floor, but the weight machines and free weights are on the 2nd.  I nearly lost my footing going downstairs after this session:

  Weight Sets Reps
Leg Press 90# 1 15
  180# 2 10
(Superset) Walking Lunges 20# 3 15/leg
(Superset) Standing Calf Raise 25# 3 15/leg
Smith-Machine Deadlift 70# 1 15
  80# 2 10
(Superset) Plie Squat 45# 3 20
Standing Calf Raise Machine 180# 3 12
(Superset) Walking Lunges 20# 3 15/leg
Seated Reverse Leg Curl 70# 1 15
  80# 1 12
  90# 1 10
(Superset) Jump Squats Body 3 10
 

Followed it up with 3 rounds of my favorite glute workout, courtesy of Oxygen Mag.  I repeat this circuit 3 times and do 15 reps/leg.

  1. Standing Rear Leg Raise
  2. Prone Leg Raise
  3. Lying Jacknife
  4. Donkey Kick

I sandwiched the whole weight-traning session with 15 minutes of V-Stride and 15 minutes of elliptical.  I am officially pooped!  Kitchen recovery time was essential..and oh so worth it to my tummy!

Chocolate Toffee Cracker Crunch

(recipe modified from this version)
3/4 (about 16 crackers) package of Wasa Light Rye Crispbread
1 C (2 sticks) unsalted butter
1 C light brown sugar
2 C semisweet chocolate chips
Optional toppings (nuts, sprinkles, candies, dried fruit)
 
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and place crispbread in a single layer on sheet.  Break crackers as necessary to fill your pan.  In a medium saucepan, melt butter and sugar.  Bring to a boil and cook, stirring constantly for 3 minutes (until toffee begins to pull from the sides of the pan).  Immediately pour mixture over crackers and spread evenly. Place sheet in oven and immediately turn temperature down to 350 degrees.  Bake 15 minutes or until topping has bubbled and turned golden brown.  Remove from oven.
Sprinkle chocolate chips over toffee and let sit for about 5 minutes.  Spread chips evenly with non-stick spatula.  Sprinkle with optional toppings ( I used walnut pieces).  Refrigerate until set, about 3o minutes.  Break into pieces and serve.
 

Chocolate Toffee Crunch

 Seeing as this isn’t the most healthy recipe, I had to make a little something for myself!  Enter these babies

 Jammin’ Oaties

1 1/2 C whole wheat pastry flour
2 C rolled oats
 3/4 C unpacked brown sugar
3/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
3/4 C sugar-free preserves (any flavor, but I used apricot)
1/4 C water
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 C unpacked raisins
 
In large mixing bowl, combine flour, oats, brown sugar, baking soda and cinnamon. 

Dry ingredients

Add preserves, water and vanilla and mix well. 

Wet ingredients

Fold in raisins.

Drop by rounded teaspoons full onto greased baking sheet or silpat.  Bake 18-20 minutes or until lightly browned.  

Jammin' Oaties

 I just knew that, because of their nutritional value, that Steve would hate them.  He not only ate one, he came back for more!  This made 60 cookies in all.  They have great stats too, as calculated by sparkrecipes.  35 calories, 0 g fat, 8 g carbs, 1 g protein, 4 g sugar, 1 g fiber, 0 cholesterol and 17 mg sodium (Those are rounded values – check the website for actual values).  It made for a good balance of healthy and not-so-healthy treats in the kitchen, and good practice for our holiday goodie plates.  I am definitely looking forward to my annual baking day with Mom now!

What’s your favorite thing to bake for the holidays?

1 Response to “Crack & Oaties”


  1. 12/16/2010 at 4:56 PM

    oohh, those oaties look awesome!! I use the same app (Sparkrecipes) for healthy recipes too! My hubby used to be that way (but he is starting to be a little more adventerous!)


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


