05
Dec
10

Sugar Cookies and baking prep

I am totally geared up for the holidays, at least as far as the kitchen is concerned.  My poor house hasn’t been decorated yet, though.  My decorations are stuck – and I do mean stuck – in the attic.  It requires a ladder for access and we lack one of those.  We had possession of my dad-in-law’s ladder for long enough to get them up there.  Since then, we have returned it and haven’t been shopping.

I am not fretting.  They’re coming out of the attic this weekend if I have to climb on Steve’s back to get them!

The kitchen, on the other hand, is completely stocked and ready for holiday baking.  I sat down yesterday to come up with a tentative list of cookies/candies that will be made on our annual baking day.

This year, I wanted to add a cookie to the list – something simple that I could easily jazz up with additions.  Is a sugar cookie not the most perfect way to do that?  The only times  that I have made sugar cookies, they have come from a plastic-covered tube and required only slicing and throwing on a baking sheet.  What a tragedy!  All those preservatives, chemicals.. blech!  Don’t misunderstand, they tasted great but they sure weren’t good for you.  I’ve changed that…

Classic Sugar Cookies

 1 C unsalted butter, softened

1 1/4 C sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 1/4 C all purpose flour

In large mixing bowl, beat butter until fluffy.  Add sugar and beat on medium speed until light in color, about 1 minute.  Beat in egg and vanilla until combined.  Add baking powder and salt and continue mixing.   Beat in flour, small amounts at a time, until combined, scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary. 

Chill mixture for about 1 hour in the fridge or 15 minutes in the freezer.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees and pull that icy cold, stainless bowl out of the freezer (or fridge if you have more patience than me).  Add 1/2 C granulated sugar to a bowl (or pie dish if you, again, are impatient like me).  Using a small cookie scoop or spoon, measure out rounded teaspoonfuls of dough and roll into 1″ balls and roll each ball in sugar (hmm.. colored sugar next time?).  Place onto an ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake 7-9 minutes or until cookies appear wrinkled on top and are light golden at edges.  Move to a wire rack to cool.  Steve swiped a few of these fresh from the oven and declared them “delicious puffs of air.”  I don’t exactly know what that means but will assume it is good since he has devoured them already.  Yes, they are now on our Christmas baking list. 

What’s on yours?

2 Responses to “Sugar Cookies and baking prep”


  1. 12/06/2010 at 3:55 PM

    I love nutmeg logs and russian tea cake cookies every year. Yum! I have a series case of bakeritis right now and I have been plowing through all my recipes trying to narrow it down.

  2. 12/11/2010 at 11:30 AM

    Those sugar cookies look amazing! I love chewy, soft sugar cookies. I always have to do Oreo truffles for the holidays. I love them!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


