08
Nov
10

Got a lil’ italiano in me

I’ve got some Italian blood running through my veins.  You certainly wouldn’t know it by looking at me, but you might deduce it by looking at this guy:

That handsome stud is my Daddy.  I love him very much, despite the fact that he kept the genes for naturally dark skin and hair to himself.  You can detect the Italiano just slightly..

Because of my 25% Italian blood, I can proudly say “Bis-coat-tee” and not feel silly.  “Bis-cot-tea” just doesn’t sound as elegant, right?  My apologies to anyone who prefers the latter pronunciation. 

In any case, the anxiety still has a tight hold, and so I still have a tight hold on my flour canister and spatula. Last night, I felt like channeling my dad’s calm, positive nature by cooking up some Italian treats.  Did you know that biscotti literally means “twice baked”?  Guess when someone asks how my goal of learning Italian this year is going, I’ll produce this fact.  It’s a start, right?

Cranberry Orange Biscotti

 2 3/4 C all-purpose flour

1 1/2 C sugar

3 eggs

1 1/2 tsps baking powder

1 tsp salt

2 eggs + 2 egg yolks

6 Tbsps butter, melted

1 Tbsp orange extract

1/2 C dried, unsweetened cranberries

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  In large mixing bowl, whisk flour, sugar, baking powder and salt together.  Make a well in the center.  Add eggs, butter and orange extract.  Stir flour into center until mixture forms a ball. Fold in cranberries (yes, you will get a good arm workout!).

Shape batter into 2 loaves on lightly greased baking sheet or Silpat mat, about 12 inches long by 2 inches wide.

Bake 40-45 minutes until loaves are golden.  Remove from oven and let cool.  Slice each loaf on a diagonal into 3/4″ slices and place back onto baking sheet.  Bake another 15 minutes until cookies are dry and crispy on top.  Flip each cookie over and bake another 10-15 minutes.

Remove from oven and cool.  Store at room temperature.

Coat or cot, they taste good no matter what you call them.  I gotta admit, it’s a fun word to say, but I sometimes get annoyed when I hear someone go over the top when pronouncing an Italian food.  Giada, anyone?  I’m all about calling it “bis-coat-tee” but I’ll keep my Americanized ways when saying Parmagianno-Regianno.  Even I can’t pull that one off – 25% Italian genes and all!

1 Response to “Got a lil’ italiano in me”


  1. 11/08/2010 at 9:39 PM

    Yum! I love cranberry orange anything, and these sound delicious! I’m a yankee through and through, so you can imagine how I pronounce it LOL!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


