06
Nov
10

Stroganoff gone right?

I almost always get things right in the kitchen.  I’m not trying to gloat, but very rarely do I picture something in my mind and have it turn out so far off..

Unfortunately, last night was just one of those nights.  Luckily, I still had some amazing cookies to brag about because dinner, while tasty, was far from what I had expected.  I sent a text to Steve earlier in the day and asked if he minded stroganoff for dinner.  That question usually induces a giggle since he likes to refer to it as “Strokin-it-off.”  Please forgive his crudeness.

After the cookies were baked and we knocked another DVR show off the list I set to work making what, I hoped, would be a delicious dinner.  It was delicious.  It was filling.  But, according to Steve, it wasn’t stroganoff.  Oh well…

“Tastes-Like” Chicken Stroganoff

1 lb. chicken breasts, cut into 1″ pieces

1 medium onion, chopped

4 oz. mushrooms, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, chopped

2 C chicken stock (or other tasty liquid)

2 Tbsps Worcestershire sauce

1 Tbsp soy flour (or other thickener) + water

1 C plain, nonfat greek yogurt

In large skillet, brown chicken (about 4 minutes). 

Remove from pan and keep warm.  Add onions, mushrooms and garlic and saute until onions are translucent (about 5 minutes) and mushrooms are browned.  Add stock or other liquid and Worcestershire and deglaze pan (get all those tasty bits off the bottom). Reduce heat and let simmer 2-3 minutes.  Add flour mixed with water and return chicken to pan.  Let simmer another 5 minutes and stir in yogurt. 

At this point, the sauce should begin to thicken.  Perhaps I was a bit to hungry and didn’t wait long enough, but mine didn’t thicken much.  It was more like Stroganoff Soup.  Not great, but definitely not inedible.  I had mine over Shirataki Noodles and Steve had his with egg noodles – a nice compromise.

I either need to practice more patience or perfect this recipe.  I suppose that it, like all things stressing me out right now, will never be perfect.  But like I said yesterday, it will get better.

0 Responses to “Stroganoff gone right?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


