05
Nov
10

Just go with it

I’m just going with the stress and anxiety right now.  Inevitably, it will pass.  Things will improve.  It will get better.  I actually discontinued my current insurance coverage since they aren’t covering anything anyway.  I can save the premium money to put towards existing bills and I’m sure it’s not perfect.  But it’s a start.  And eventually it will be a bit closer to perfect.  Until then, I’m going with the flow.  Until then, I will bake and be proud of my kitchen accomplishments. 

Even Better Chocolate Chip Cookies

3/4 C unsalted butter, melted

3/4 C granulated sugar

1/2 C packed brown sugar

1 Tbsp vanilla extract

1 egg

1 egg yolk

2 C all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

12 oz. bag of chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  In large bowl, cream together butter and sugars until fluffy.  Beat in vanilla, egg and yolk. 

Slowly add flour, baking soda and salt and continue mixing until combined.

Fold in the chocolate chips (or whatever sounds delicious – next time, I’m thinking white chocolate chips and dried cranberries for a festive cookie). 

Place by rounded teaspoons on an ungreased cookie sheet (thank goodness for my new cookie scooping gadget cuz this job is much easier now) and bake 13-15 minutes until edges are lightly golden. 

Prepare to be amazed by a mountain of cookies!

Steve actually told me that I had perfected the recipe and that they were akin to Max & Erma’s cookies.  That’s a pretty darn good compliment in my book seeing as those are his absolute favorites.  I think we’ll be relying on this recipe from now on!

That stress?  It’s becoming as melty as the chips in these cookies.  For that, I’m grateful.

On a side note, I am super jealous of all of awesome bloggers that are currently in San Fran for the 2nd Annual Foodbuzz Blogger Festival.  I know all of the eats, treats and new friends found there will rock some blogging socks.  I can’t wait to read everyone’s updates!  Hope that everyone has a great time and maybe I can get there someday!

Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


