04
Nov
10

Stress

I have not been the coolest cucumber over the past week.  In an attempt to only bitch briefly, I’ll just say that my health insurance is dropping me on December 31st.  As a result of my pre-existing melanoma, I have yet to find a new company that will accept me as a member.  You’d be stressed too, right? I already have medical bills stacked up.. and it promises to get worse.  Great.

I work through my stress in two (probably obvious) locations – the gym and the kitchen.  Years ago, I ate my stress directly from the pantry.  Now I still hit the pantry, but it’s to hunt down ingredients for some good, comforting baked goods like this no-knead bread:

Or even better – sweet, comforting baked goods.

Pumpkin Snackin’ Cake

1 C AP flour

1 C whole wheat flour

1 1/2 C sugar

2 tsps baking powder

1 Tbsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

4 eggs, beaten

1 15-oz. can pure pumpkin puree

1/2 C canola oil

1/2 C unsweetened applesauce

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Whisk together flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in large bowl.  Add eggs, pumpkin, oil and applesauce and stir to combine.  Pour into an ungreased 15×10″ baking pan and bake for 30 to 35 minutes.

Looks like it’s missing something.

 

Ahh.. much better! Let cool and dust with powdered sugar.  Eat up!

 I baked the stress away.  At least, momentarily.  I suppose it will resurface here in the next few days.  I’m starting to overdose my family and friends on sugar.  I’m just hoping that they still don’t mind.  More sugary goodness is inevitable..

5 Responses to “Stress”


  1. 11/04/2010 at 8:43 PM

    I’m sorry this is happening. I don’t have health insurance right now either. Hopefully the new legislation will stick around so you can get coverage.


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


