28
Oct
10

Domesticated Diva

I LOVE Thursdays.  I know, I know.  It’s not Saturday, or Friday for that matter.  Heck, it’s not even a good, relaxing Sunday.  I happen to love Thursdays because they are my day off.  Every week, I can count on Thursday to provide me at least 14 hours dedicated to doing things for myself, Steve or both!

I met with Jillian Michaels via Exercise TV On Demand for a 30-Day-Shred workout (and my arms are already sore which just gives me more motivation to work on them in the gym).  I had a date with Harris Teeter and Trader Joe’s.  If Patti Stanger were to ask me who I would choose between the two for my “big date” it would be no contest.  Joe had me at hello.

So I got something done for myself, something for both Steve & I… it was time to do something for the husband.  I whipped up a batch of his favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies.  His taste buds approved when he scarfed one down after work tonight.  The baking bug must have seriously bit me today.  I didn’t stop at one batch of cookies.  I moved on to Oatmeal Raisin.  Sorry, Joe.  Heidi’s got another love –

I jokingly told my mom recently that I was going to cook  my way through this cookbook (a la Julie Powell of Julie & Julia fame).  I could never reach so high as to cook the recipes of Julia Child, but this Better Homes & Gardens thing?  It’s totally do-able.. when I find the income to support it.

I have managed to bake quite a few goodies thanks to this book and my sweet mother-in-law who gifted it to me last year.  Today’s adventure? Oatmeal Raisin Cookies!  I altered their recipe only slightly to accommodate my serious cinnamon addiction, my desire to use some natural sweetener and the need to feel less guilty when I bite into one.  You can find the original version here.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

3/4 C butter, softened

1 C brown sugar (I left mine unpacked)

1/4 C agave nectar

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 Tbsp ground cinnamon

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 C all-purpose flour

3/4 C whole wheat flour

2 C rolled oats

In large mixing bowl, beat butter about 30 seconds until fluffy.  Add in sugar, agave, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon and beat on medium speed until combined.  You will likely have to scrape the sides of the bowl a couple of times.

Add eggs and vanilla and beat until combined.

Add flours (about 1/2 C at a time) and mix until combined.  Add in oats until your batter looks chunky (and maybe slightly healthy).

Fold in raisins and start dishing!  I used a small cookie scoop and put the dough about 1″ apart.  Take my word, more space is needed.  Even if you want to get more cookies done  at a time, don’t be tempted!  A couple of my cookies baked into uber-cookies.  Not that that’s a terrible thing..

Bake at 375 degrees for 9-10 minutes until a light golden brown.  They will be quite soft coming out of the oven, but they crisped up nicely when the cooled.  Enjoy .. pronto!

In fact, feel free to enjoy dessert before dinner.  Even though my dinner was quite tasty, these are even better and should get top billing when it comes to matters of the tummy!

But speaking of dinner..

Friggin awesome and colorful, no? 

Trader Joe’s Hodge Podge frozen veggies + chicken breast + Shirataki Noodles + a few sprays of liquid aminos

It was veggie-pasta heaven, but it didn’t quite hold a candle to those cookies.  Even though my love, Trader Joe, provided those awesome veggies, a piece of my heart will still belong to that cookbook.  Here’s to more deliciousness, courtesy of those beautiful red and white checkers!

2 Responses to “Domesticated Diva”


  1. 1 Parsifal
    10/28/2010 at 9:54 PM

    I love the comment about eating dessert before dinner!!

    My wife knows that there is a long-standing belief by me that it’s utterly ridiculous to wait for anything sweet or dessert related until after a meal.

    If anything, it actually makes dinner taste better! Sadly, my lifelong theory was busted when we had kids…

    Still though, no better example than cookies in between bites of dinner 🙂

    Brian

  2. 10/29/2010 at 11:53 AM

    Yum! I like your idea of going through the Crocker book – I have that one as well!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


