17
Oct
10

harvest bakes

I think I’ve mentioned how much I love Fall weather but I love it the most because, frankly, there are apples everywhere you look!  And, for the most part, they are so cheap!  I picked up a beautiful 3 lb. bag of Gala’s at our local organic food store and immediately began brainstorming ways to use them. 

I also recently fell in love with Simply Recipes.  Elise’s blog is wonderful and I can’t wait to try out more great recipes that I have found there.  She has a great one for Bisquick Apple Coffee Cake and I knew I wanted to give it a whirl (shown here with my own spin).  Thanks, Elise, for such a great recipe!

Bisquick Apple Coffee Cake

Cake:

  • 2 C Heart Smart Bisquick
  • 2/3 C Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze (or any almond milk)
  • 2 Tbsp Splenda
  • 1 egg
  • 2 small Gala Apples, peeled, cored & sliced

Topping:

  • 1/3 C Heart Smart Bisquick
  • 1/4 C packed brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp Splenda
  • 1 Tbsp Ground Cinnamon
  • 4 Tbsp Earth Balance

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a large bowl, mix together cake ingredients.

Lightly spray a 9″ baking pan (I used a small 7″x11″ glass pan) with cooking spray and pour batter in.

In a small bowl, combine all topping ingredients except butter.

Sprinkle on top of batter and place slices of butter over top.

Bake for 40-45 minutes until top is dark golden brown.  I forgot, sadly, to photograph the finished product – it disappeared very quickly, but it looked a bit like Elise’s version:

This serves 12.  Per serving:  150 calories, 5.7 g fat (1.3 g saturated), 257 mg sodium, 24.7 g carbohydrates, 2.3 g protein as calculated by SparkRecipes.

I concocted a caramel sauce to serve drizzled over the top.  I didn’t have any cream on hand, so I had to wing it.  It turned out a bit too liquid-y so I’ll have to increase the cornstarch next time or simmer it a bit longer.

Heidi’s Dairy-Free Caramel Sauce

  • 3/4 C Unsweetened Almond Breeze
  • 3/4 C Sugar-Free Maple Syrup
  • 1 Tbsp water
  • 1 Tbsp cornstarch
  • 2 Tbsps Earth Balance
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

In small saucepan, whisk together almond milk and syrup and bring to boil.  Reduce heat and simmer 3 minutes, whisking occasionally.  In small bowl, combine water and cornstarch.  Add cornstarch mixture to saucepan and simmer another 3 minutes, whisking constantly.  Remove from heat and add Earth Balance and vanilla.  Serve drizzled over cake.

Even with the no-so-thick sauce, this was incredibly delicious!  It’s a perfect brunch or dessert cake and it was the perfect way to start my apple-baking days. 

What do you love most about Fall?  Got any other good apple recipes for me?

0 Responses to “harvest bakes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


