14
Oct
10

DOMS IOMS

I had a KILLER leg workout yesterday morning and I was expecting some serious DOMS.  Yes, I was expecting DELAYED onset muscle soreness when I woke up today.  Imagine my surprise when 12 hours post-workout, I could barely squat down to feed the cats.

 “Feed me or feel my wrath!”  I can’t deny my boys their food, so squat I must!

Here’s what I had going on yesterday morning:

Circuit 1 repeated 3 times    
Leg Extension 75# 12 reps
80# 10 reps
90# 10 reps
Lunges with Plates (the weighted, not-for-eating kind) 25# plate 2×12/leg
35# plate 1x 12/leg
Single-Leg Calf Raise with Plates 25# plate 2×12/leg
35# plate 1×12/leg
     
Circuit 2 repeated 3 times    
Leg Press 90# 15 reps
115# 15 reps
140# 12 reps
Kneeling Leg Curl 25# 3×10/leg
Standing Calf Raise 160# 15 reps
180# 15 reps
200# 12 reps
     
Circuit 3 repeated 3 times    
Smith Machine Barbell Squat 50# 3×10 reps
Stiff-Leg Deadlift 70# 3×10 reps
Incline Calf Press 180# 15 reps
225# 15 reps
270# 12 reps

I sandwiched this strength routine with 15 minutes of elliptical (following the Body for Life exertion pattern) and 10 minutes of V-stride.  It was glorious!

The soreness, however?  Not so glorious.  12 hours post-work.  Tonight, I can barely move!  I know a bubble bath is in order for me – a long, very warm bubble bath.  Thank you BFL for allowing me to feel my workouts.  Seriously, I love the pain, because it is something I have not experienced in a while which basically means I had stopped pushing myself.

The post-workout eats today, I gotta say, made me more excited than a cooked meal.  I stopped by the Harris Teeter salad bar for a delicious mix.

Colorful and delicious-looking, no?  There’s no way I can down 5 eggs.  I’m an egg white only type of girl.  Something about powdery egg yolks.. ick!!  My belly was happy, but probably not quite as happy as these guys!  Food-induced nap?  I think so!

 

What type of workout has given you the most painful DOMS?  I love new routines, ya’ll!

How do you feel about hard-boiled egg yolks?  I’ll take them mixed with some relish, yogurt and paprika a la deviled eggs, but other than that.. fuhgeddaboutit!

4 Responses to “DOMS IOMS”


  1. 10/14/2010 at 7:47 PM

    how cute are your cats!! My female, Spirit heard me admiring them and came right over because she thought I MUST have meant her!! Wherever you’re working out looks beautiful-I’m in rainy Hudson Valley-not so lovely today. I’ve also worked in retail-may need to again-quit worse job ever today-a long exciting story of thrown files, heckling, etc! I went to college for Med Lab Tech back in the 80’s and am now going (online) for medical coding. I’m brand new to this site and just learning my way around and you popped up under “cats”-enjoy your workouts and yummy-looking snacks!!

    • 10/14/2010 at 8:22 PM

      My family has encouraged me to go to school for med tech – did you get into that at all? Was it enjoyable? I so miss working in a lab!
      Thanks for the kind words – they are some terribly sweet cats, but not so wonderful at 4 am when they are both fighting for the closest spot to your face! Great start to your own blog!

  2. 10/14/2010 at 9:39 PM

    As a cat lady, I’m totally digging your cats! I love the mad face your cat is giving you because he wants to be fed ASAP.

    I, too, love being sore! It makes me feel like the exercise worked and my muscles are getting stronger.

  3. 10/14/2010 at 11:18 PM

    Once, in gymnastics practice, I had to squat down with one leg horizontally up at 90 degrees from my standing leg. That was HORRIBLE. I couldn’t walk for days after!!!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


