07
Oct
10

A fest for gluttony

It comes around each year, and each year I used to get very excited.  Since I began my weight loss journey and total diet change, the Great American Food Fest held in Chesapeake has not been quite as thrilling.  I still enjoy spending time with my parents and socializing with friends.  I still enjoy the people-watching fodder – and there is a TON of it.

The food that is served by area restaurants, however, leaves a bit to be desired for anyone that is not eating clean or watching how their food is prepared.

There are plenty of fried items – corndogs, chicken wings, fried fish, hushpuppies, shrimp and funnel cakes.

There are endless varieties of soups – clam chowder, shrimp and crab bisque, creamy roasted red pepper and multiple styles of chili.

There is cotton candy, pizza, meatballs, shrimp & grits, pulled pork barbecue, chips and salsa, riblets, soda and more beer and liquor than should be allowed in such limited square footage.

I can’t say I was fully unprepared for such an occurence.  I solved the problem by filling up on a great breakfast.

 

Peachy custard oats + Oikos Greek Yogurt with Total Fiber cereal + Nestle Fat Free Hot Cocoa

At the Food Fest, I then find the cleanest food possible and eat like a fiend.

Grilled Tuna skewers

I think I may have eaten my weight in these.  OK, not really.. I only had 4. 

I struggled tonight – really struggled but not with the food, surprisingly.  Some of my parents friends (that I had never met before) tagged along.  At nearly every tent stop, the wife asked “Do you eat anything? That’s worries me” By the third round of a similar statement, I wanted to scream.  Thankfully, my mom was standing by to insist that, yes, I ate quite well, but my dietary choices were different.   I have never gotten truly angry when asked about my food choices, but to be asked this over and over again and for someone who does not know me to say that my choices worried them was quite upsetting.  Needless to say, I soon left.

I wonder, though, when our society began to think that eating unprocessed, natural food instead of sugar-laden, man-made crap was “worrisome.”  I don’t always eat the best food, but I think the choices I make (for the most part) are the choices that we should all make to treat our God-given bodies with care and respect.  I know this isn’t the case for everyone, but eating fried, processed or rich foods makes me feel physically awful.  I feel amazingly strong, empowered and healthy when I eat clean food. 

Instead of screaming, rolling my eyes or just walking away, I quietly agreed with my mom.  “Yep.. what she said.”  Then I snapped a pic of a mini, gluten-free chocolate cupcake (enjoyed by my gracious mother and courtesy of the Carolina Cupcakery)

and basked in the warm sun and thanked God for giving me a body that is healthy enough to get through life.

Have you ever faced a similar statement or question?  How did you react?

 

4 Responses to “A fest for gluttony”


  1. 10/07/2010 at 11:23 AM

    There is always the assumption that someone has an eating disorder if they don’t participate in social eating, particularly if they have lost weight. I think some of it is misplaced guilt about what they are eating at a fest such as this. After one comment, though, I would be saying something.

    • 10/07/2010 at 11:30 AM

      Perhaps it is a bit of guilt, but I definitely don’t want to take any comment as an opening to “preach” about my eating habits, because then I feel awkward or overbearing. It’s like a no-win situation. I’m just glad that there are people who have experienced what I have.
      Thank you for the comment, Lori!

  2. 10/09/2010 at 11:24 AM

    oh those tuna skewers look great!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


