01
Oct
10

Think Pink!

“Speedy”  seems to be the only gear for 2010.  It’s October?!  Where did the rest of the year go?  The good thing about October is the fact that it’s Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

I started my day with a pink drink –

It tasted about as pink as it looks, but it was very good!  I just recently tried the SoBe no-calorie beverages and I really enjoy them.  Unfortunately, they’re a bit pricey so I can only enjoy them once in a while.  I have no problem grabbing one from the 7-Eleven case when my hubby has to stop for a Slurpee fix!

My pink drink went along with my warm custard oats topped with pink peaches (courtesy of blueberry stains)

My arm was celebrating too!  It developed a nice pink mark – a souvenir from the Pyrex bowl during last night’s baking adventure.

 I celebrate every October in memory of my grandmother and aunt who both suffered with breast cancer.  These ladies had so much life in them and so much energy.  I can only hope to be half the women that they were!

Another great thing about October?  Cooler temperatures.  Beautiful colors in nature.  Changing out my clothes from shorts to sweaters.  Cozy, cozy sweaters.  After our week-long rain was totally worth it when I walked outside today and the temperature stayed below 80 degrees.  It was sheer heaven!  I could certainly live in temperatures like this every day.  It’s warm enough to wear t-shirts without them sticking to me from sweat. 

I also get a bit a giddy when I can buy 5 lb. bags of apples, snack til my heart’s content and bake til the kitchen is an inferno.  I picked up my first bag of organic Gala apples tonight and am off to bake an apple snack cake for work tomorrow.  The smell of cinnamon and apples..  there isn’t much that beats it!

Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


