30
Sep
10

Artisanal Amazingness

Last night I threw together some flour, yeast, salt and water and called it the beginning of good taste.  This evening I threw that mass of sticky, carby goodness into the oven, sliced it up and served it alongside some spaghetti.  Oh yes.. enter the No Knead Bread!

I wouldn’t call it “no knead” exactly, since a little finagling has to be done to make it cooperate, but it takes little to no effort to create this

from this.

It looked much messier before I worked it into a neat ball, but I failed to capture the bubbly starter.  Fret not for it will be made again.  I’m thinking of mixing some herbs or dried fruit/nuts into my next loaf.  The possibilities are endless!

Baking seems an obvious way to spend my day off since our radar map has looked like this for the past 4 days and there is no end in sight.  Thank you Tropical Storm Depression nuisance Nicole.  You can leave now!

 

In general, I’m a huge fan of thunderstorms and rain, especially when I have the time to stay in bed and read/blog/nap but they don’t call this area “Tidewater” for no reason.  The waters are a-rising and the people are a-worrying.  Living so close to so many bodies of water makes it a little treacherous around here after only 1 day of rain.  We’ve had many, which brings out the horrible drivers.  I prefer to keep myself at home to bake, cook, clean and relax. 

So, bring on the rain!

4 Responses to “Artisanal Amazingness”


  1. 1 Parsifal
    09/30/2010 at 9:45 PM

    So, this is the second post on bread tonight I have seen that is leaving me with the feeling of wanting to go make some, stat!

    Must make bread soon….

    Would have liked to see some butter on there just after it came out 🙂

    Parsifal

  2. 10/01/2010 at 10:37 AM

    That bread looks like just what I’m looking for! Thank you SO much!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


