19
Apr
10

Vacay!

Yes, I hate it when people say that word as a replacement for “vacation” but as someone who is less than 2 months from departure date, I will say it as much as I want.  In 52 days, I will be on an airplane with this destination in sight:

That beautiful, beautiful island is Kauai, Hawaii – also known as the Garden Isle.  Not only did I get lucky in marrying such a hunky man.  I also married a man whose grandfather lives in Princeville.  His backyard:

And what we looked like at the last visit (back in 2003):

It will feel so amazing to go back with Steve’s family and be in much better shape.  7 years ago, there was no way I would have hiked toward the Na Pali coast in my chubby state, but I am so amped to see it all this year – to hike, run and just enjoy the Hawaiian air and fabulous views.  This time, I’m doing it with my husband, my in-laws, 2 new sisters-in-law, a new brother-in-law, their lovely friends/significant others and my new grandpa! 

In my excitement, I have done a little shopping.  A new body has required new clothes and while I love that my older things are too big for me now, I really hate spending money on clothes.  Luckily, we have a plethora of consignment stores nearby that I can scour for dresses, shorts and tanks.  So far, I’ve found 2 new pairs of denim shorts and 3 dresses for less than $100.   I have to wait for the next paycheck to do anymore shopping though.  Sad, I know!  I still need some new bathing suits.  Apparently, they are not as easy to alter, so new ones are on the list!  I don’t think I have bought a new bikini in at least 3 years.  I’m overdue!

Do you have any vacations planned this summer? 

2 Responses to “Vacay!”


  1. 04/19/2010 at 5:08 PM

    I’m jealous! I’ve never been to Hawaii but it looks so beautiful and peaceful! The only summer plans I have so far is in August: Hood To Coast Relay Race. I will probably be spending most of the summer training for that!

  2. 04/19/2010 at 5:50 PM

    I am so jealous! That sounds like a wonderful vacation! Big consignment store shopper, here. Love the bargains 😀

    No set plans yet, but we might pop up to Montreal for a long weekend, since we already did a cruise this year.


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


