14
Apr
10

Here, there, everywhere

I just haven’t been here.  I have been a sucky blogger, no?  I have not, however, sucked at life!

I finished one of my April goals just a few days into the month – I ran a 5k at Mt. Trashmore in the beautiful weather that we have been blessed with.  Despite the icky layers of yellow, the sun has been shining and the birds are singing.  Everything is blooming or, by now, turning green. 

There’s far too much to rewind and chat about so I’ll just hit the highlights –

*Easter was spent with my family having a yummy dinner and catching a flick with my hubby (Clash of the Titans, to be precise, and I highly recommend it!)

*I switched up my work schedule at the gym while our opener was on Spring Break.  It was nice to spend some evenings off!

*I bought a fancy new cooler to take my healthy food to work.

*I filled it with some yummy snacks

*I made some rockin snacks like these Wasa crackers topped with tuna and Laughing Cow.

And I tossed together some Tofu Shirataki noodles, mushrooms, spinach and marinara for a tasty Italian bite.

 

* Mom’s birthday was this past Sunday, so I tried my hand at baking – and made a successful angel food cake, courtesy of Betty Crocker’s plaid cookbook.  I think this was my proudest baking moment EVER. 12 egg whites makes a whole lot of foam and once I mixed in the cake flour and sugar, it was a beautiful pile of clouds!

When I pulled it out of the oven, the aroma and appearance made me giddy – I couldn’t wait to de-pan it, but I had to cool it upside down to set. 

According to Betty Crocker, for 1/12th of this cake, there is only 161 calories, no fat and 4 grams of protein.  Let me just tell you that 1/12th is a TON of cake.  It was amazing with fresh strawberries but, most importantly, my momma had a wonderful birthday cake.  It was loved by all – even my picky hubby!  Thanks, Betty Crocker!

* I also spent mom’s birthday catching up with my furry loves –

Cuddly, loving Jack

& sweet, soft Norris

* I got an amazing package last week as well and must send many, many thanks to Lara of Thinspired for having an Amazing Grass giveaway that I could win 🙂  Check out the goodies! Chocolate SuperFood powder, individual Green SuperFood packs for my on-the-go adventures and 4 bars 🙂  I haven’t been able to try the bars but the Chocolate powder is amazing!  I was a bit skeptical about how “green” it would taste, but it gives a great, extra boost to my pre-workout shakes. You’re the best, Lara!  Thank you so much!

* Steve & I had another new activity to add to our lists this week – we ventured to a giant pet/supply store called Animal Jungle in Va Beach.  We have been discussing pets recently and were hoping to see some Sugar Gliders.  Sadly, they had been sold just days before, but they had some adorable Chinchillas to giggle at, as well as many birds with fabulous personalities.  We were shocked to see a $10,000 Hyacinth Macaw.  Who knew birds could cost the same as a car?!  He was quite beautiful and seemed extremely intelligent, but man oh man..  That’s a costly pet!  The store could be part zoo – they had one of these guys hanging around:

He was definitely not for sale, but he was being housed here.   We could have spent hours in the store looking at all of the unique creatures.  It was quite a day and I am glad that we are doing new things – including visiting pet stores!

I’m stuck at home now, in bed, after another round of skin biopsies.  At least it gives me an excuse to catch up on my Google reader 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Here, there, everywhere”


  1. 04/14/2010 at 1:32 PM

    Happy recuperation in bed!

    I like the AG bars, but am not a fan of the powders that much.

  2. 04/16/2010 at 6:24 PM

    Yay! I’m glad you got the goods! I haven’t tried the bars yet either, but I really do love the powder in my smoothies. Glad you like it, too 🙂


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


