28
Mar
10

bikini season

It’s coming.  It’s coming very, very quickly.  Need proof?

Look at those beautiful blooms on the trees leading into our neighborhood.  It makes me smile on my way to work and not much can make me do that!  Soon enough, the petals will be gone, the leaves will return and summer will be here. 

In preparation, my Fitness Rx magazine Bikini Body workout continues.  I had to take a couple of days off this week thanks to a head cold, but I returned full force yesterday with an insane step workout and shoulder/back workout.  Today I did the lower-body circuit listed in the magazine.  I do not have high hopes for my muscles tomorrow.  They will likely be screaming!

I made a stop at the Organic Food Depot after the gym to pick up a few things, including this new find:

Light, crunch, airy and totally yummy!  I slathered one with a little bit of PB2 (chocolate variety, of course) and found dessert heaven!

My post-workout thirst overcame me by the time I checked out, so I picked up something that these other bloggers have raved about – Kombucha. 

 Not gonna lie.. I was disgusted as soon as I opened the bottle.  The smell was so off-putting, but I took a swig anyway.  I had to hold the gag back!  It reminded me of overly-fermented apple juice mixed with truly rotten beer.  It probably doesn’t help that I’ve had a bad apple juice experience as a child which resulted in food poisoning.  It may be healthy and it may be supported by many bloggers.  I am not, and probably never will be, one of them.  Maybe I started with the wrong variety.  Any suggestions from those that have found a Kombucha variety that doesn’t taste anything like my description?

I received an awesome package in the mail on Friday that brightened my day!  I won my first giveaway from Gina over at Simply Life and look what showed up in my mailbox ready for a plethora of applications –

This is actually the very first all-natural nut butter that I will be trying (I don’t count Smuckers variety) so I am super excited.  You’re the best, Gina!!  Thank you so much!  I think some good, old-fashioned PB toast tomorrow will be the first taste!  I’d love some suggestions on baking recipes that include PB & Chocolate!

My tummy is a-rumbling so it’s lunchtime!  On today’s menu: Tofu Shirataki noodles + spinach + Morningstar Meal Starter Crumbles.  A fave!

Time to dig in!!

On a side note, it might not be conducive to prepping for bikini season, but I bet it’s so yummy – Lori is giving away some authentic maple syrup (non of those icky chemicals/preservatives involved!).  Go check it out and enter to win!

5 Responses to “bikini season”


  1. 1 Katherine: What About Summer?
    03/29/2010 at 6:02 PM

    Let me know what you think of those noodles! I can’t ever get them to taste just right. Synergy is great, though. What flavor is it?

    Let’s not think about bikinis right now… ah the dreaded lack of clothing!
    Katherine

  2. 03/29/2010 at 10:14 PM

    I can see how kombucha could be a bit…off putting! I was slightly unimpressed the first time I bought it, but I love it now!

    I’m jealous of your PB!

  3. 03/30/2010 at 5:42 PM

    all i can say is kombucha can grow on you. the first time i tried it i HATED it. ironically, the first one i tried was the one you have there. but the ones that may be more pleasing to your palette are the mango flavor or the guava flavor. also i really like the citrus and the cranberry. but hey.. it tastes like carbonated vinegar, no way around that. you should just not try to like it because it is SO pricey!

  4. 03/31/2010 at 11:58 AM

    MUST you remind me about bikini season?! REALLY?! 😉

    I am just starting to try different flavors of kombucha. I’ve loved all three I’ve tried so far, but I haven’t tried that one yet. It kind of scares me for some reason. Maybe it’s the rainbow and the fact that it isn’t described as one particular flavor. Yikes.

    You might like the strawberry synergy. It’s really not vinegar-ish at all and has a strong berry flavor 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my new site!

  5. 04/01/2010 at 2:39 PM

    I will have to try that PB. They have a brochure for it and everything, whoa is it laced with some special magical ingredient? lol


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


