25
Mar
10

Dear body,

I think that, recently, I have spent too much time judging you and obsessing over your weaknesses and the things that make you different from those individuals whose bodies I admire.  How unfair I have been!  I too often have forgotten the times that you have helped me, have sheltered me and have given me motivation to keep pushing forward and making you healthy.

Thank you for being stronger this past year when I needed you the most – through the loss of so many loved ones.  Your legs carried me, your emotions helped me to be there for my family and, though your heart may have been broken, you were consistently “there.”

Thank you for allowing me to meet and surpass the fitness goals that I have set for myself.  You have grown stronger than I could have imagined and you have shown more endurance than I would have thought possible.  You have shown me that moments of pain and discomfort will always result in success and will eventually benefit my health.  I apologize for the times that, when you were trying to tell me to slow down, I pushed you too hard.  Thank you for making that very clear to me.  I promise to allow you more rest when you need it.

Thank you for allowing me to change my mind; to crave this

and these

instead of these

even when a kind gym member brings them in to us as a “thank you” gift.  Thank you for allowing me the will-power to create new cravings that will sustain you, that will help you grow and that will keep you healthy. 

I spent over 10 years treating you unkindly by subjecting your skin to UV rays that you could not handle.  I am paying the consequences for your mistreatment and will be more thoughtful  and considerate of your needs.  Thank you for presenting the cancer so soon that it could be contained quickly and treated early.  I promise to take better care of you so that you will remain healthy for the rest of my life.

There have been so many days that I have hated you, been disgusted by you and hurt you in response to those feelings.  Despite all that I have put you through, you have survived and come out stronger.  Your support and tenacity amazes me.  Thank you for all that you have done and will continue to do to push me through life.  I love you.

2 Responses to “Dear body,”


  1. 03/26/2010 at 2:35 AM

    what a lovely post 🙂

  2. 03/26/2010 at 3:13 PM

    this is a great concept for a post and i loved reading it! i hope you have a fabulous weekend!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


