19
Mar
10

fresh eats

I’m a Subway fan, don’t get me wrong.  Something about the smell of that bread wafting through the air just makes me a bit happier. The funny thing about that is that I NEVER end up getting a sub.  I always have the chicken and spinach salad and I always order it the same way.  Unfortunately, 1 item in my order (yes, we order by drive-thru) always gets left out while hubby’s sandwich is always made perfectly.  How do such tragedies occur?  Tonight, my salad lacked tomatoes.  That may be a good thing, though, since tomatoes are not yet in season.

Tomatoes or not, it was a wonderfully fresh conclusion to a day full of sunshine and singing birds.  Spring has arrived a day early!  It permitted me to do a little tidying up on the deck and sitting on the porch with a cup of hot tea and my new Everyday Food magazine.  When those tomatoes finally do come into season, I can’t wait to try out a roasted plum tomato recipe.  It’s for an 8-lb. batch of tomatoes to use for multiple recipes.

I enjoyed a day off today and it was SO needed after 2 full days of training in Fredericksburg.  My brain – stuffed to the brim with info – needed to decompress.  I ran a few errands with the windows down and the car heater in the off position.  Yay!  I had purchased some new kicks up in F’burg because silly me remembered all of my gym attire except shoes!  I used them twice for approximately 1 hour each time and promptly returned them today as I have no need for new shoes.  Am I going to hell for this?  Probably.  I also returned an Adidas bag that I had purchased at TJ Maxx (aka Shopper’s Paradise), but this product went unused. 

Post-returns, I ventured on to find a store that I recently found on the internet – The Organic Food Depot.  I could not believe all of the amazing products they have in such a small store!

It was far too easy to lighten my wallet in this store, but I exercised pretty good self-control and did most of the shopping with my eyeballs.  My one bag contained –

I was able to pick up a couple of items that I have seen on other blogs including a bottle of Steaz, a jar of Crofter’s North American Superfruit and a Vita Coco.  I also snatched up some McCabe’s Granola on sale and some freeze-dried Yogavive apple chips in various flavors.  First up?  The Yogavive chips in peach flavor crumbled and mixed with Oikos and a couple of drops of Stevia.  The result?  Sheer genius (but not like the awful hair-cutting show). It had just a subtle peach flavor.  I’m still baffled at how they can get one whole apple to be only 35 calories!

Tonight’s trial?  The Steaz.  Check out the cap! 

Yes, dear Steaz, I am happy to be guzzling you down with my delicious popcorn.  You are the perfect raspberry thirst-quencher and you give me all the benefits from your green tea.

Up next?  I’ll be indulging in Vita Coco before my morning work out, then I’m planning on adding a bit of the Crofter’s to my custard oats OR McCabe’s to my morning Oikos.  The nutritionals are impressive –

Pretty low sugar for granola, no?  I’m bound and determined to find some of that Galaxy Granola, though.  It’s popped up a few times, but I have yet to find it here.  No worries, though.  That granola will be mine!  Mwahahaha!!

Alright, enough, I know.   That Vita Coco won’t be drank (or is it “drunk”?) if I have no energy to even get to the gym.  Good Friday night, all and good luck to my buddies running this weekend’s Shamrock Half or Marathon!  I’m sending you happy running vibes!

4 Responses to “fresh eats”


  1. 03/20/2010 at 5:45 AM

    You won my giveaway! Can you send your mailing address to simplylife1@gmail.com? Congrats and have a great weekend!

  2. 03/20/2010 at 8:20 AM

    I had to LOL at you having problems with your orders. DH and I have the same exact thing – his orders are always fine and mine always get messed up, particularly at Starbucks!

  3. 03/21/2010 at 10:49 AM

    I love the Steaz stevia sweetened teas. They aren’t overly sweetened like the ones with regular sugar. Vita Coco and the Crofter’s are two products I love also! 🙂

  4. 03/28/2010 at 9:51 AM

    So jealous you have an organic store near you! Your haul looks great! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


