17
Mar
10

Life in a hotel room

I think I’ve got some pretty nice digs up here in the F’burg!  There’s a lot to be said about sleeping on a king-sized bed.  There’s plenty of room to sprawl and not worry about waking up someone next to me.  I’m sure my adoring hubby likes not having a tossing/turning/cover-throwing wife next to him for a few nights as well!

Ahh the bed…

The next best thing about my room?  It not only has a coffee pot, but a microwave and fridge too!

You better believe that I went to the store and stocked it with good eats.  Maybe “stocked” isn’t the word, but after seeing the continental breakfast, I was glad about my choices!

I even managed to make some custard oats for breakfast today.  I was pretty proud of my hotel room skills.  I definitely needed a hardcore breakfast for today’s training – 4 hours of class on top secret stuff followed by 3 hours of top secret driving drills.  Whew.. I was beat!  I managed to make it into the (puny) hotel gym to get 40 minutes of cardio in.  Half of the stuff down there doesn’t work, but they have an awkward elliptical, treadmill and bike that function as well as a universal weight machine.  I did 5 minutes of fast walking, a 5-minute job, 5 more minutes of fast walking, 15 minutes of crazy hard biking and 10 minutes on the weird elliptical.  Total time = 40 minutes; Total calories = 410.  Max HR was 167 and the average was a (higher-than-usual) 148. 

My belly needs food and the bed is a prime spot for catching up on the mags I brought with me –

 

Off to store up energy for another 8 hours of driving drills tomorrow.  Oy!

5 Responses to “Life in a hotel room”


  1. 1 Ruth
    03/18/2010 at 12:53 AM

    mmm i love greek yogurt! way to go, not succumbing to the continental breakfast! next time i am in that position, i will try to harness my inner heidi and be healthy 🙂

  2. 03/19/2010 at 7:24 AM

    that’s awesome that you have a fridge and microwave there!

  3. 03/19/2010 at 3:23 PM

    great magazine picks and i like the way you stocked your hotel fridge!

  4. 4 Ashlei
    03/21/2010 at 10:48 AM

    I always try to get a hotel room with a fridge so I can stock it like that. If not I just fill up my cooler at the ice machine, but that’s so ideal…

  5. 04/03/2010 at 8:15 PM

    I’m blinded by her abs! Wow!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


