10
Mar
10

purpose

 When I wake up at 5 am, change into my gym clothes, gather my necessities (ipod, sweat-mopping towel, pre-workout energy drink and water bottle) and head to the gym, I walk in with purpose.  That purpose usually takes 1 of 2 forms – to build strength or blast fat.  There are occasionally a few things that distract me from my purpose.  I don’t often get hot & bothered by things that happen at the gym, but on some occasions like this morning, I get more than distracted – I get angry.

I assume that most humans who are old enough and responsible enough to have gym memberships would know common rules of etiquette and proper hygiene when working out in close proximity to others.  Sadly, I assume incorrectly sometimes.   

I arrived at the gym this morning at 5:30 and immediately began an elliptical workout (what else is new?).  In a row of 12 ellipticals, I chose one at the very end while all other machines remained unoccupied (did I tell you that I love an empty gym!?).  Ten minutes in, I was already breathing heavily.  At about this time, another woman took the elliptical right next to me (while all others were STILL unoccupied).  This would not have bothered me except for the fact that she smelled as if she had bathed in perfume.  REALLY?!  Who puts on that much perfume at 5:30 am prior to a workout?!  She was either trying far too hard to attract attention or was completely moronic.

On any normal morning, I would have simply stopped, wiped off my machine and moved to another, but I was angry and it takes a lot to make me angry.  I was angry enough to stop the machine, walk to the reception desk, print a copy of the rules & regulations, highlight the following statement and hand it to the woman.

“Members and guests agree to conduct themselves in a quiet and well-mannered fashion when in or about the club and not cause any disturbances or interfere with the safe use or enjoyment of the club by other members and guests.” (source)

In hindsight, simply saying something politely to the woman would have likely been a better choice, but as someone who experiences migraines that are brought on by strong odors or unusual lights, I simply could not fathom how someone could be so ignorant.  She may not even know what she had done to interfere with my enjoyment..  Oh well.

The rest of my workout was spent in the free weight area but it was half-hearted.  I’m hoping that sitting here reading blogs and enjoying a big bowl of strawberry custard oats will return me to my state of enjoyment.  I’ve got something new to read too!

I entered both the custard oats  and my Chicken Curry in a Hurry recipe to Oxygen magazine.  I’m still not sure which recipe they liked, but it was fun to be picked as THE WINNER! I got this in the mail yesterday as my prize:

 

It’s got some amazing recipes that are high in complex carbs, lean protein and healthy fats, along with awesome info about ingredients that I have seen in other blogs but haven’t yet tried.  Now I have a good reason to go check out some new foods!  There’s even a protein bar recipe that I think may be the first on my list!

Speaking of new foods, I tried something new yesterday –

Added a bag of these –

Easy cooking to yummy eats!

I packed work snacks too.  This was the best grapefruit I have had in a long time – just sweet enough!  The tangelo, on the other hand, was WAY too sour for me.. more sour than the most sour grapefruit I’ve ever eaten 🙂

I couldn’t even get over how pink it was!

My custard oats have certainly perked up my tummy so it’s time for some blog reading to further help me forget about my half-azz workout.  Have you ever gotten angry with someone at the gym?  What did they do to upset you?  How did you handle it?

1 Response to “purpose”


  1. 04/03/2010 at 8:17 PM

    I go to the gym mostly to use the pool. I get really mad when people see that I’m clearly swimming laps and exercising and they want to get in the way. They horse-play, dog paddle, etc. Or they simply don’t know (or ignore) common sense rules of the pool. That makes me nuts! I don’t really say anything to anyone unless it gets out of hand. One time this guy refused to stay on his side of the lane and kept running into me. I stopped in the middle of the lane and asked him to stay on his side. It was so frustrating.


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


