27
Feb
10

Saturday Stroganoff

Sadly, my weekend with no work is half over, but on the up side, I made a ridiculously delicious dinner tonight!  I also got in an amazing workout this morning.  (In fact, when rating it on my log, I confidently scored it a 9 of a possible 10.  Score!).

I felt back to 100% when I woke up, so I dressed and was in the parking lot 15 minutes prior to opening.  I knocked out a hardcore 45 minutes of intervals on the elliptical, alternating between resistance of 8 and 10/12.  I managed to hit 5.25 miles and my legs still felt strong enough for a good weight session:

  1. Barbell Squats – 1 set of 20 with 20# SUPERSET with
  2. Barbell Deadlifts – 1 set of 20 with 20#
  3. Hill Climbers – 3o seconds
  4. Leg Press – 1 set of 10 with 90#, 1 set of 10 with 160# and 1 set of 8 with 180# SUPERSET with
  5. Calf Presses – 1 set of 15 at 90#, 1 set of 15 at 160# and 2 sets of 10 with 180#
  6. Jog – 30 seconds
  7. Reverse Lunges with Glute Squeeze – 2 sets of 15/leg with 20# DBs
  8. Jog – 30 seconds
  9. Reverse Leg Curl – 2 sets of 10 at 70#, 1 set of 8 at 75#
  10. Leg Extension – 2 sets of 10 at 70#

I finished up with 15 minutes on the crosstrainer on the “fat burn” program and averaged a heart rate of 140.  Overall, I burned 915 calories in 90 minutes.  I was so elated to be able to work out again.  I don’t know about you, but I tend to get guilt-gut if I miss more than 2 consecutive gym days.  It’s bad.. I know.  But I haven’t yet learned how to overcome those emotions.

Steve & I ventured out this afternoon with 1 task in mind – picking out new furniture.  We were victorious!  Check out our new living room set:

(source)

Ignore the rug.  We got the sofa, loveseat, chair, 3 tables and lamps.  I like the furniture we have now – it’s been all over Hampton Roads and in 4 of my dwellings, but it’s tired and worn out.  We will likely end up donating it, but I first want to try my hand at selling them on Craig’s ListHave you sold anything on that site?  Any words of wisdom?

Now.. on to the best part of the day – DINNER!  Hubs used to really enjoy his mom’s stroganoff, so I wanted to attempt a healthified version.  I seem to be doing that to every meal I make for us.  Oh well.. tonight’s healthy stroganoff had all the taste of the real thing, even if it wasn’t as creamy as he is used to.

Easy Stroganoff

1 lb. ground chicken or turkey breast

1/2 large onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1 C mushrooms, sliced

2-3 Tbsp Worchestershire sauce

2 C chicken broth

1 C 0% Greek Yogurt (I used Fage)

Salt & Pepper to taste

  1. Brown chicken/turkey in large skillet with onions and garlic until cooked through.

  1. Add mushrooms, chicken stock, worcestershire and salt and pepper and return to a boil.
  2. Cook about 10 minutes and remove from heat.  Stir in yogurt.
  3. Serve over white rice, brown rice, quinoa or…

Mashed Cauliflower

No, you need not adjust the settings on your computer monitor.  This is definitely green cauliflower.  It didn’t start that way.  It was white when I steamed it in the microwave, white when I added it to the blender and then I made the mistake of adding chives BEFORE I blended (with chicken stock, salt and garlic powder).  Pesky chives.  It tasted awesome, but it probably grossed out hubby.  Gross looking or not, it was good in my belly and it will be made again!  I stocked up on ground chicken breast at the store today – they were all $2.00 off and ended up being only $2.99/pack.  Nice!

 

A lazy night awaits with Olympic viewing, popcorn snacking and some sleep thrown in with hopes for another great gym day!

What’s the most disgusting-looking yet tastiest thing you’ve ever eaten?

 

 

 

0 Responses to “Saturday Stroganoff”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


