23
Feb
10

Tuned up Tuesday

I think I got an overnight tune-up – or maybe my immune system rocks harder than I give it credit for (knock on wood).  Whatever the case, I woke up feeling much more rejuvenated.  I’m still a bit stuffy in the head and the nose will not quit running, which has resulted in the painful-overrubbed-snozz syndrome, but I can function normally.

In fact, I got a really amazing workout in at 5:30 am and didn’t feel the need to quit halfway through.  I started off with 45 minutes on the elliptical (average HR = 158) and hit my back and shoulders.  I did a bit of back on Sunday, but that was a gigantic flop!

1. Circuit 1

A. Overhead Shoulder Press – 3 sets of 10 with 20# DBs

B. Bent-Over Row – 3 sets of 10 with 20# DBs

C. Jumping Jacks/High Knees/Jump Plie Squats – 1 set of each for 30 seconds

2. Circuit 2

A. Front Raise – 1 set of 10 with 10# DBs; 2 sets of 10 with 12# DBs

B. Seated Low Row – 1 set of 10 at 60#; 2 sets of 10 at 70#

C. Jumping Jacks/High Knees/Squats – 1 set of each for 30 seconds

3. Kettlebell Swings – 3 sets of 15 with 20# KB

4. Kettlebell Upright Row – 3 sets of 10 with 20# KB

I followed strength training with 15 minutes of “fat burn” on the crosstrainer (Average HR = 135)

In 75 minutes, I managed to burn 850 calories, have a max HR of 175 and an average HR of 134.  Not too shabby!

I was a very hungry girl after that workout.  The hunger beast could only be quieted by a big, hot bowl of custard oats.

1/2 cup of this

1/2 cup of this

Plus a little squirt of this

Topped with some frozen raspberries and blueberries = HEAVEN!  PURE HEAVEN!

My lunch was almost as good as my breakfast!

 

Are you grossed out?  Don’t be!  It was way tastier than it looked!

Another 1/2 cup of this

2/3 cup of this

Thrown in a carrot (or two) = HEAVEN PART DEUX!

I worked this afternoon and threw together some tasty snacks to carry me through my shift.

A very crispy, very sweet Fuji tossed in cinnamon and a Blueberry Clif Z-Bar which will hopefully keep my tummy occupied until dinner.

On a non-food related, more serious note, I am visiting a doc tomorrow and am a little queasy about it.  This past weekend, I felt a lump so I am getting it checked out tomorrow.  After last August’s skin cancer diagnosis, I am nervous.  Probably more nervous than need be, but would love some extra good vibes and prayers if you’d like to send them my way.  I’m planning to complete my normal 5:30 workout to appease my anxiety, but will give updates as soon as I can.

Lots of cinnamon-covered thanks for your support and happy thoughts!

PS: I’ve gone a little Cracker Crazy recently and so has Lily.  Head over to her blog and enter the Mary’s Gone Crackers giveaway!

Also, if your skin sucks up moisture like mine does during the winter, you can go see Jolene at Everyday Foodie and enter her giveaway.  It’s a giveaway extravaganza!

And if those amazing giveaways weren’t enough, Lara is giving away… wait for it.. CHOCOLATE! Attune probiotic chocolate to be exact and you can enter here!  Do it now!

2 Responses to “Tuned up Tuesday”


  1. 02/23/2010 at 10:42 PM

    I hope your doctor’s visit goes ok. I’ll be thinking about you!

    Thanks for linking to my giveaway. 🙂

  2. 02/24/2010 at 12:59 PM

    Thanks for posting about the giveaway, Heidi!

    I hope your doctor’s appointment goes alright. I will cross my fingers for you and think positive, healthy thoughts ❤


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


