21
Feb
10

Germy Mess

I am a big ball of mucus and, for that reason, I am annoyed.  I don’t mean to be icky, but colds are just the worst, aren’t they?!  It’s a type of sickness where you still feel the need to get things accomplished but all you want to do is lay around and be useless.

So what’s a girl today in such a state of ickiness?  Search for comfort, of course!

There’s comfort in a bowl of custard oats with plump raspberries and blueberries:

There’s comfort in serving it alongside Greek Yogurt and granola: 

 

I am, by the way, loving this granola.  The banana and maple flavor is perfectly intense and it stays crunchy for a long time (so when I pack it for dinner and eat it 6 hours later, it still rocks my world)!  PLUS, the blueberries and bananas get perfectly soft. Check out these facts:

(source)

Upon making my second bowl of oats today, hubby wondered why I would consider 2 servings of oatmeal in 1 day.  “Well,” I replied, “it warms my tummy and that makes me feel better.” Do you find that breakfast makes you feel better?

My lunch was a second bowl of oats and were of the steel-cut variety. I topped these with sugar-free strawberry preserves.  Hit the spot!  I really like the TJ’s quick cooking brand.  They were uber creamy when I added a couple of egg whites!

Last night, at the onset of yucky feelings, I relied on breakfast for dinner for a bit of comfort.  Enter an egg white scramble with spinach and Morningstart Meal Starter Crumbles.  This was insanely delicious!

It isn’t much to look at but oh my..  I can’t wait to try this again!

I found a little more comfort in a good cup of hot chocolate this afternoon made with this bit of cocoa goodness:

And what is more comforting than a giant bowl of hot soup?  Even in my lazy state, I was able to throw a bunch of stuff into a crock pot and pray for tastiness.  The result was a Tex-Mex Chicken Soup that we both devoured and still had plenty left over!

Tex Mex Chicken Soup

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

4 cups (1 box) low-sodium chicken broth

1 can black beans (Trader Joe’s!), drained and rinsed

1 can of whole kernel corn (Trader Joe’s – it stayed super crispy!), drained and rinsed

1 can diced tomatoes

1 small onion, chopped

2-3 cloves garlic, chopped

1-2 Tbsp. salt

Throw the ingredients in the pot.  Set on low for 6-8 hours.  After 3 hours, shred the cooked chicken and add back to the pot.  Serve with tortilla chips or shredded cheese (optional).  Love at first bite!

What do you find comfort in when you don’t feel well?  Luckily, I didn’t have to work today and was able to spend time with my  hubby – that’s the best comfort of all!

PS:  Do you like Fiber One?  I’m such a sucker for an Oats and Chocolate bar for a sweet treat.  Head over to Simply Life and check out this amazing giveaway! 

2 Responses to “Germy Mess”


  1. 02/22/2010 at 8:40 AM

    I hope you start feeling better soon! I’m with you and could eat breakfast anytime of the day!

  2. 02/23/2010 at 12:52 PM

    I’m sorry that you have a cold 😦 The soup sure looks delicious, though! I am always looking for good soup recipes, particularly tortilla soup-type. My best friend’s mom growing up made a soup similar to this, and I have never been able to re-create it! I’ll have to give your recipe a try 🙂
    Feel better soon!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


