16
Feb
10

the love keeps coming

It comes in the form of early morning workouts where I love how strong I feel, I love how quiet the gym is and I love the feeling of accomplishment – all before 7 am!

Today, I showed my shoulders lots of love in the form of pain –

  1. Arnold Press – 2 sets of 10 reps with 15# DBs
  2. Bent-over Lateral Raise – 3 sets of 10 reps with 10# DBs
  3. Cable External Rotation – 2 sets of 10 reps at 10#; 1 set of 10 reps at 12.5#
  4. Standing Overhead Cable Press – 3 sets of 10 reps at 30#
  5. Machine Side Shoulder Raise – 2 sets of 10 reps at 30#; 1 set of 10 reps at 35#
  6. Kettlebell Swings – 3 sets of 15 reps with 20# KB
  7. Kettlebell Upright Row – 3 sets of 10 reps with 20# KB

I started with a 30-minute, 4-mile warmup on the elliptical and a 20-minute cooldown on the crosstrainer elliptical.  Early sweat session = awesome!

I found a teeny bit more love in having the entire day off!  It was my first full day off in quite a while, so I passed on some of that love  to hubby by fixing him a stir-fry dinner:

I am a huge fan of oyster mushrooms, baby corn and spinach so I made 2 pans of goodness.  Steve’s was lacking all of the things he hates, but was full of his favorite stir-fry sauce!

I got a BIG package of love in the mail today from my blogger Secret Valentine, Elise (aka the HungryHungryHippie).  I had come across her blog a while back, but had not bookmarked it.  I definitely wish I had – I’ve been missing out on some really great stuff on her blog.  I’ll be sure to keep up with Elise now!  She loves food and fitness – 2 very important aspects of my life!  I could not believe all of the goodies that she sent me!  Now this is love..

Lots of yummy teas (including the elusive Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride by Bigelow, Good Earth Chai & Newman’s green tea), a great selection of mints (who knew Newman’s Own made mints?!  I sure didn’t!), a hyooooooge selection of Amazing Meal products that I have always wanted to try (one will surely be used for tomorrow’s pre-workout shake), a Tropical Fruit Tart Larabar (which I VERY recently saw over The Fitnessista), Caribbean Solutions Natural Onyx Tanning Oil and some yummy Hershey’s goodness!  What a spread – I could not wait to make a cup of Sugar Cookie tea, so I had a cup right after dinner.  Score! 

Also included was a sticker for Dave’s Killer Bread – something totally new to me so I checked out their website.  Unfortunately, they only have stores on the west coast, but they sell online!  I might find myself giving one of their loaves a try.  We all need killer, all-natural bread packed with good stuff and not packed with preservatives!

How sweet is this card?   She’s the sweetest, and yes, all of these goodies will definitely keep me warm.  The Onyx Oil will even be with me in the warmth of Hawaii in June! 

Elise rocks my world and so does Janetha who is such a wonderful lady for putting the whole Secret Valentine exchange together!  If you head over to her space, send lots of congratulations since she’s newly engaged!!  Congrats, girl.  I’m sending lots of love to you both for your thoughtfulness and generosity!!

Now, I will finish my day with something else that I love – sleep! 

What are some of the things that you just couldn’t love anymore than you already do? People? Places? Activities?  Acts of kindness?  Hit me with it!

5 Responses to “the love keeps coming”


  1. 1 elise
    02/16/2010 at 11:22 PM

    yeahhhh!!!!!!!!!! so glad you got it 🙂

  2. 02/17/2010 at 1:54 AM

    Heidi, I love the look of your stir fly. It is steaming & its made me hungry. I’m makin a stir fry tonight FO SHIZZLE!

    I’m a million times jealous of all those teas. We have like 3 brands here & about 15 different teas.

    I couldnt love my best friend more, I couldnt love finding new bones & muscles as i lose weight more & I couldnt possible love & enjoy creating healthy dishes meal after meal.

  3. 02/17/2010 at 10:16 AM

    Hi there! My first time visiting your blog.

    Your dinner looks awesome.. I am a big fan of baby corns. 🙂 And ofcourse the secret Valentine package is AWESOME… so many great things in there 🙂


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


