10
Feb
10

puppies and popcorn

My 2 current indulgences are listed above – a big bowl of low fat popcorn and the sight of a cute pup playing with a giant rope.  In fact, Atlas keeps eyeballing me and hoping that I will drop a piece of my delicious popcorn.  Not a chance, furball!

Amazingly enough, these aren’t even the highlights of my day.  Those would be;

1. Quickie ab workout this morning, courtesy of exercise tv..

2. A follow-up waist measurement and joyous celebration upon realizing I’ve lost an inch!

3. And an awesome new bread recipe

Choco Nanner PB2 Bread

(Modified from this recipe)

1 1/4 C whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup unpacked brown sugar

5 egg whites

3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

2 large, ripe bananas

1/2 cup rolled oats

6 Tbsp PB2

1/2 cup semisweet chocolate or carob chips

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. In large bowl, mix 1st 4 ingredients until thoroughly combined.  Add egg whites and applesauce and stir to combine. 
  3. In small bowl, mash bananas.  Add bananas and oats to batter.
  4. In microwave safe measuring cup, melt chocolate chips (about 1 minute on high) and stir until smooth.  Add 1 cup of batter to melted chocolate and mix well.
  5. In remaining batter, stir in PB2. 
  6. Spray a loaf pan (LIGHTLY) with cooking spray and add batters alternately.  Swirl together using a knife. 
  7. Bake until top of loaf is firm to touch, about 45-50 minutes. 

I used my new purchase for the egg whites – from Egg Whites International!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Batter!

Happy Bread!

Happy Heidi (with this in my belly)!

Now, happy Heidi is heading to bed so that I can get up and make more highlights tomorrow!  Night!

4 Responses to “puppies and popcorn”


  1. 02/10/2010 at 2:04 PM

    Hi Heidi! Thanks so much for your comments on my blog. Looks like we have a lot in common….I, too am seeking full-time employment, and I ADORE popcorn! 🙂

  2. 02/12/2010 at 10:35 PM

    You look phenomenal! I am so jealous of those abs.


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


