08
Feb
10

How bout them Saints?

Normally, I’m in the Packers/Vikings bandwagon thanks to my in-laws devotion to all things Green Bay and Brett Favre.  I chose to root for New Orleans yesterday because I’m partial to underdog teams and since they’ve never won, yet alone been to, the Super Bowl.  Well.. go Saints!  And go they did!

We spent last night with Steve’s parents and I had a blast! I made a super snack so that I wouldn’t binge on heavy foods, should they be present.  I put my own spin on Tina’s  3-minute oatmeal  cookie.

1/4 cup oats + 3 egg whites + 1/4 tsp. each of vanilla, cinnamon and baking powder + 1 package of freeze-dried fuji apples.  Microwaved it for 2 minutes and ended up with a plate of magic!

In  my camera-lacking state, I failed to get pictures of the yummies that Mom served (that 3-minute cookie was so unnecessary) – we had crudite and chips with homemade guacamole and dressing; Salsa courtesy of our favorite mexican joint, Plaza Azteca; chilled, steamed shrimp with cocktail sauce;  and the Piece de Resistance – Turkey Chili!  What’s a Super Bowl without it?  I managed to get the recipe, but not the photo.  Next time I make it, I will be sure to snap a mugshot

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Momma M’s Turkey Chili

1 lb. ground turkey

1 medium onion, diced

2 cans tomato soup + 1 can water

1 can black beans, drained

2 tbsp cumin

2 tsp chili powder

  1. Cook ground turkey and onion until no longer pink.  Drain.
  2. Add other ingredients and simmer 30-45 minutes.  Eat up!

Super easy and so thick and rich!  It was perfect for the cold temps we’ve had recently!

After the game, I headed back to get some puppy playtime  in before bed.  They work me up pretty early this morning (well, I could also blame that on my very sore legs from yesterday’s workout), so I headed to the gym for back and bicep day!  After 30 minutes on the elliptical with 5 minutes of intervals and 15 minutes of hills included, I hit the weights.  I’ve devoted a lot of time to dumbells recently, so I did my entire workout on the machines today.

  1. Circuit of Seated Concentration Curls, Back Extension and High Knees x 3 sets
  2. Circuit of Cable Bicep Curls, Seated Low Row and Jump Squats x 3 sets
  3. Circuit of Standing Crossover Curls, Reverse Flye and Jumping Jacks x 3 sets

Today’s workout was “meh..”, but I attribute that mostly to the pain in my legs.  Yesterday is still hurting me a bit!

My busy week begins with a shift at work, but this headache threatens to rain on that parade.  Crossing my fingers that the Excedrin kicks in in the next 30 minutes!

1 Response to “How bout them Saints?”


  1. 02/09/2010 at 7:07 PM

    yay for underdogs! i too, rooted for the saints – what a great came!!

    lovin the turkey chili recipe! one of my favorite comfot foods 😉


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


