06
Feb
10

the feel-good formula

The good thing about  my job (despite the long shifts) is that I have a lot of time to read.  Whats even better is that, working at a gym, I dont feel guilty about reading Oxygen magazine, AKA my fitness Bible. I like to hang on to my back issues and reread them.  We forget the article information so quickly, don’t we?

During my last shift, I pulled out my October 09 issue and came across a Letter from the Editor about a “Feel-Good Formula” or what makes her feel her best.  I got to thinking about what makes me feel my best.  More importantly, am I incorporating these things into my routine?  What’s makes up my feel-good formula?

1. Time with my Husband – I am a newlywed, of course!  Unfortunately, I don’t get this as much as I want (and I’ve said it so many times…) due to my working hours.  We spend 1 night together during the week and most of the weekends together.  I suppose I can’t complain too much, since many of my friends have hubby’s who are on deployment.  When it’s an aspect of my life that I can change, however, I start to seek ways to do so.  New job hunt much?

2. Time with my family –  I am super lucky!  My parents and my in-laws live 20 minutes away.  My mom & I are adamant about having 1 afternoon together for lunch or shopping each week and I couldn’t be happier about that.  As an only child, I am extremely close to my parents.  I am also lucky to work (at my other part-time gig) with my Dad.

3. Time for me – This is an encompassing theme that would include my dedication to my health (workouts, healthy eating) and completing some of my favorite activities (dancing, scrapbooking, shopping, crafts).  I gave up dancing about a year ago (and that’s a whole other story), but still having my giant scrapbook center at home, though it hasn’t been used as much as I’d like to –

I still get to shop with my mom on occasion and I get crafty when I can.

Still after reading this article, I began to feel imbalanced, as if my formula wasn’t being properly applied.  Between work, financial stress and medical issues, I haven’t been able to keep things in order.  I get my workouts in, I eat right and I take advantage of what time I do have with my husband and family.  Physically, I feel amazing.  Mentally?  Not as much.  I feel as if I am lacking the opportunities to really integrate my formula.  So what’s a girl to do?

Other than finding a new job with regular hours, I have no answers.  I suppose it’s just a wait and see..

(On a side note, upon previewing this entry, I noticed that the program removes all apostrophes from my typing.  Odd.)

In any case, the job hunt continues, as do my workouts and healthy cooking!  Check out this weeks gangbusters workouts:

Tuesday – Chest & Tris with 30 minutes of elliptical intervals and a 15-minute bike cooldown.

  1. Cable Crossover superset with Cable Tricep Pressdown
  2. Jog for 5 minutes
  3. DB Chest Press superset with Bench Dips
  4. Jog for 5 minutes
  5. Incline Chest Press superset with Tricep Kickback

Wednesday – Back and Legs with 37 minutes of elliptical intervals and 15 minutes of biking

  1. Bentover DB Row superset with Ballerina Plie Squats
  2. Jog 5 minutes
  3. Lat Pulldown superset with Reverse Lunges
  4. Jog 5 minutes
  5. Incline Prone Row superset with Calf Raises
  6. Jog 5 minutes

Thursday – Whole body circuit with 15 minutes of elliptical intervals, 10 minutes of hills and 20 minutes of biking

  1. Circuit 1  – Squat with Bicep Curl, Chest Press with Skull Crushers & Bench Hopovers (3 sets of each in sequence with no rest)
  2. Circuit 2 – Step-ups with Glute Squeeze, Bench Dips & High Knees (3 sets of each in sequence with no rest)
  3. Circuit 3 – Ballerina Plie Squat, Deadlift with Row and Jumping Jacks (3 sets of each in sequence with no rest)

Friday – Happy rest day for me!!

Saturday – Shoulders with 10 minutes of elliptical intervals, 25 minutes of elliptical hills and 15 minutes of biking

  1. Lateral DB raise
  2. Upright Row
  3. Arnold Press
  4. Front Raise
  5. Jog for 5 minutes
  6. Bent-over Lateral Raise
  7. High Knees for 30 secs

(Each exercise done for 3 sets)

Holy moly.. my calorie count for this week is over 4,900!  This was a week of phenomenal workouts!  I love incorporating short bursts of cardio into my weight training to keep my heart rate elevated.

The food this week was also phenomenal!  I failed at capturing some meals (after all, I have a lot of repeats!), but did manage to make my hubby a new dinner and use a fun gadget that’s been sitting in the cabinet since moving day!

Oats with Frozen Blueberries + Plain 0% Fage with my own MixMyGranola creation (muesli, dried blueberries, dried strawberries & pomegranate powder)

I can’t believe I have ignored this thing for so long.  This sucker makes amazing popcorn with NO oil or butter necessary! 

 

I used mine to make some amazing cinnamon sugar popcorn.  My popcorn obsession has a new form of satisfaction!

I also made Steve some yummy, healthified Chili Mac this week and it couldn’t have been easier to make!

Heidi’s Healthy Chili Mac

1 lb. ground turkey

1 box elbow macaroni (I LOVE Barilla Plus!)

1 medium onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, chopped

1 can corn

1 can diced tomatoes

1 C chicken stock

3 Tbsp. Chili Powder

1/2 tsp. Crushed Red Pepper

1 Tbsp. Cumin

  1. Cook turkey onion and garlic until no longer pink.  Drain.  Meanwhile, boil water for macaroni.
  2. Add corn, tomatoes, stock and spices plus salt to taste. 
  3. Cook macaroni until al dente. Drain well.
  4. Stir cooked macaroni into turkey mixture and cook another 2-3 minutes.
  5. Serve with shredded cheese (optional)

 

Steve had his with cheese.  I had mine without macaroni over some steamed spaghetti squash.  Oh my…

The week that I face promises to be insane levels of busy!  I am watching 2 dogs that I have watched many times before, but I have to shuttle them back and forth to daycare/training.  On top of my odd work schedule, it should be fun to fit my workouts in!  At least these pups are a small part of my feel-good formula 🙂

What’s your feel-good formula?

4 Responses to “the feel-good formula”


  1. 02/08/2010 at 8:58 PM

    You kick some serious butt in the gym this week. My body is aching just reading your workouts.

    Your healthy chili mac looks ah-mazing. I’m going to have to try it but a vegetarian version. It looks sooooo yummy

  2. 02/08/2010 at 8:59 PM

    oh my feel-good formula is just being positive, doing what makes me happy makes me feel fantastic


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


