01
Feb
10

a love/hate relationship and a two-a-day

I love snow.  I haven’t seen more than a “light dusting” since I was 7 years old.  That said, imagine my joy when I woke up Saturday morning to find this –

Hooray snow!  Beautiful, glistening, clean white stuff!  It’s absolutely fabulous, except when it comes to how the people in our area deal with it.  We see snow so infrequently that most Hampton Roadians do not know how to drive, shop or prepare for it.  In fact, before even one flake falls, most schools have already declared a “snow day.”

I loved it.. until about Sunday afternoon when I was getting increasingly agitated about being stuck inside without my gym or window shopping visits that often break up my day.  Snow & I are no longer on speaking terms.  Thank goodness for Jillian Michaels, Jeanette Jenkins and Exercise TV on demand to keep me huffing & puffing!

My weekend workouts: Jillian Michaels Boost your Metabolism & Jeanette Jenkins Kickbox Bootcamp.  They both successfully kicked my bootie!

I feel like a bad blogger also – I should have at least spent the 48 hours stuck inside writing some type of update, but I failed.  I did, however get a beautiful gift for my Mom nearly finished.  I won’t post pictures until it has been given to her, but let’s just say that it is something I have worked on since last February.  I could have easily finished it before now, but it got a few breaks due to wedding planning.

The eats have been pretty boring recently, but I did have what I will call a “Two-A-Day” weekend.  Saturday, I attempted brownies.  The first batch, for my hubby, was a box of Betty Crocker Triple Chunk.  I must have sprayed too much Pam on the pan because the oil completely separated and gathered on top of the brownies.  After I tried soaking it all up with paper towels, they became serious hockey pucks.  When they went down the garbage disposal, it sounded like metal grinding against metal.. not good!

The second batch was a batch of Scrum-Diddly-Umptious vegan brownies.  Oh my.. I thought they would be a bit bland, but they were amazing!!  In fact, they disappeared so quickly that I failed to get a picture, but I guarantee they will be made again.

Last night’s dinner was a twofer as well.  I tried my new Arora Creations Tikka Masala spice mix.  It was WAY too spicy!  Neither Steve nor I could eat it, so I stir fried some turkey cutlets, mixed his with Cream of Chicken soup and mine with straw mushrooms and baby corn.  Round 2 seemed to work out better!

I’m being forced to venture out on the crappy roads today to go to work, but I am super happy about being able to exit the house!  Crossing my fingers that our local citizens have figured out how to drive in this stuff!

3 Responses to “a love/hate relationship and a two-a-day”


  1. 02/03/2010 at 2:44 AM

    Heidi, thats insane snowfall. I’ve never seen snow but I’m ok with that, I really dislike the cold.

    Don’t worry if you can crack out a blog, your in our readers so we’ll see you posts eventually.

  2. 02/03/2010 at 7:49 PM

    We are getting crazy snow too! In Regina last week we had so much snow (it is waist high on my grade 8 students) that the bus and taxi service were canceled for a week … first time that has EVER happened!!

  3. 3 emma
    02/03/2010 at 8:00 PM

    ExerciseTV is a greta way to workoutindoors… I’m in LA, so i don’t have to deal with the winter-wonderland you do, but I actually prefer to workout in the comfort of my own home… which is why I religiously workout with exercisetv. Check out exercisetv.tv to find more FREE online mini workouts and a huge selection of DVDs in their store!!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


