27
Jan
10

over the hump

It’s been a very speedy week thus far!  It’s been nice to spend the past 2 nights with the hubby and enjoy some much-needed time together!  Work usually gets in the way of my subtle reminders of why I love him so much!

Who couldn’t love this silly man?!

Today was supposed to be spent overseeing a heating guy replace a part in our heater, but the owner of our condo finally wised up or the repair company is very persuasive.  Whatever the case, he decided to replace the entire, outdated unit!  Praise God!  The fixes will occur when all of the parts come in.

The other upside to that is that I could enjoy a morning in the gym!  I didn’t get there until 8 so it was more crowded thanI like it to be.  I started with 20 minutes on the elliptical, then hit Chest and Triceps:


 

Flat Bench DB Press 10 reps 15# DBs
  10 reps x 2 20# DBs
Bench Dips 12 reps x 3  
Flat Bench DB flye 10 reps  10# DBs
  10 reps x 2 15# DBs
Skull Crushers 10 reps x 3 10# DBs
Cable Tricep Pressdown 10 reps x 3 40#
(strangely, on 1 machine I can only go up to 40#, while on another I can press 70#..odd)    
Cable Crossovers 10 reps x 3 10# each arm

I finished with another 20 minutes on the elliptical, while constantly listening to my tummy rumble.  Envisioning a yummy batch of protein pancakes, I came home and made the best-looking (well, best-tasting too!) cakes EVER!  I think the key was only heating the pan on low heat. 

You can see that I had good intentions to make a crock-pot meal tonight, but a headache kept that from happening.  Instead, Steve suggested Chinese food.. another reason I love him so much!  He knows when I really don’t need to cook.  He ordered his usual pork lo mein.  For me?

Steamed mixed veggies with some stir-fried turkey tenderloin that I had on hand:

No sauce or rice.. just a sprinkle of garlic powder and a dash of low-sodium soy sauce.  Perfection.

In an effort to make it to the gym by 6:30 tomorrow, I must hit the hay now.  Night!

5 Responses to “over the hump”


  1. 01/28/2010 at 7:19 AM

    Oh those pancakes sound amazing!

  2. 01/28/2010 at 9:24 AM

    I hope you feel better soon!!
    Get a good night’s sleep.

  3. 01/29/2010 at 12:05 AM

    Your husband looks so silly. I like em silly too, nobody wants mr serious.

    Those pancakes look SOOOOOOOO amazing.

    I hope your able to get rid of your headache.

    Thanks for your blog comment. I love Australia soooo much, most people who visit here do also.

  4. 01/31/2010 at 9:11 AM

    Amazing looking pancakes!! I’m all about the low heat too. They’re not always the fluffiest that way, but at least they’re thoroughly cooked 😉

    Cable machines. They’re all different. They really need to get a standard weight for those cables or something, it’s frustrating trying to figure out the right weight on new machines!

  5. 02/01/2010 at 7:43 PM

    your hubby is so cute! and the protein pancakes look out of this world.
    aahh already missing them. 😦


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


