18
Jan
10

It’s Monday..

Ugh.  I really, really don’t like Mondays.  I especially dislike them when they follow a wonderful weekend!

We spent yesterday doing things that I love to do – having breakfast with Steve’s parents at my favorite – Broken Egg; seeing a movie with a big group of friends that I don’t see often enough; getting a good workout in; enjoying dinner & football with my husband.  It was awesome!

As mentioned, we went to see The Book of Eli.  Coming from a Christian background, I was extremely touched by the movie and the conclusion.  I won’t ruin it, but it is on my list of “Must-See Movies.”  Granted, there is quite a bit of gore/death, but it had a remarkable story line. 

I hit the gym right after the movie and got in a very quick, but effective, workout.  I only had 1 hr and 15 minutes until they closed so I did some intense elliptical time to warm up (2 1/2 miles in 20 minutes).  I completed a few circuits from the top of my head and cooled down with 15 more elliptical minutes.  I do love that machine, don’t I?  It’s so much easier on my knee than the treadmill. 

I had mentioned Plaza for Mexican food for dinner a few days back, but I was just not feeling it.  I made it up to Steve by suggesting Subway, which is always a hit.  After a dinner of Chicken and Baby Spinach salad (thrown into a Flat Out wrap), we watched the taped Vikings/Cowboys game and the Golden Globes.  Love, love, love looking at the dresses and hairstyles.  I envy those celebrities for being able to wear such amazing gowns on a regular basis!

I got another good workout in this morning.  Warmed up for 20 minutes on the… wait for it… elliptical.  I’ve done lots of circuits recently, so decided to target my triceps and shoulders today:

  1. Overhead press: 10 reps x 3 with 15# dumbells
  2. Tricep extension: 10 reps x 3 with 10# dumbells
  3. Lateral raises: 10 reps x 3 with 10# dumbells
  4. Cable tricep pressdown: 10 reps at 60#; 10 reps at 70#; 8 reps at 80#
  5. Front raises: 10 reps x 3 with 10# dumbells
  6. Tricep kickbacks: 10 reps x 3 with 10# dumbells

Cool down on the elliptical for 10 minutes and called it quits!  I came home to a breakfast out of my ordinary egg pillow –

Vanilla Chobani and a nice warm mug of Diet Swiss Miss.  I love a good cup of hot chocolate now and again 🙂

I’m having lunch with my family at Surf Rider (a local, yummy seafood place), then working a long shift at the gym today.  See you soon!

5 Responses to “It’s Monday..”


  1. 01/19/2010 at 9:32 AM

    I was wondering about that movie – it’s hard to tell what it will really be like from the previews.

    Where are you in VA?

  2. 01/19/2010 at 10:44 AM

    I’m down in Virginia Beach in the Hampton Roads area, but hopefully not for much longer! I grew up here, but it’s much more expensive than other areas!

  3. 3 Brandi
    01/21/2010 at 10:14 AM

    cool! I grew up in Chesapeake, just a few minutes from VA Beach 🙂 I live in southwest Virginia now – this is the only state I’ve ever lived in! I love it.

  4. 01/21/2010 at 10:23 AM

    I was born and raised in Chesapeake! Did you attend high school down here?

  5. 01/21/2010 at 5:09 PM

    Sounds like you had a great workout! I’d love to see that movie. I’ll have to put it in my Netflix queue.


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


