16
Jan
10

Heat returns!

Just as I was starting to become accustomed to temperatures of 30 degrees (not..), the weather has the nerve to warm up!  Squee!!

It’s been a GREAT Saturday.  I’ve spent nearly every moment of it with my hubby, minus the 1 1/2 hours in the gym this morning.  But I must rewind to Friday, so that I can insert this fabulous flashback:

Yep, that’s me in 2002 with my beautiful cousin, Madison.  Look at those tiny hands!  We ran into her with her mom (my cousin, Jen), Jen’s boyfriend, Ray, and their new son, Conner at breakfast last weekend.  I can’t believe how much she has grown up. 

Here she is as “Cake Face Maddy” in 2004 at my college graduation party:

I need to find some updated pictures, but when I saw her last weekend, I was just astonished at how quickly time has gone by!

In any case, the events of yesterday were pretty routine.  I didn’t have any desire to drive to the gym in the morning, so I did a Jillian Michaels Cardio workout on On Demand.  It was a kick-booty circuit routine with resistance training and quite a bit of plyometrics mixed in.  I admit, I thought it would be terrible, but it was not that bad. Despite her inability to work out to the tempo of the background music (something I didn’t realize was important until yesterday), it was a good burn.

I gobbled up a familiar breakfast after:

I “root for the cute”:

These breakfasts seem to hold me for a while, but I always scarf it down after my workout.  I am trying to work a bit harder on slowing down my eating and enjoying meals. 

Lunch was later and, again, another familiar sight before I went to work.

Herb-roasted turkey, spinach and Garlic Herb LC on a Sun-dried Tomato Flat Out with some clemmys and apple that wouldn’t fit in my work to-go bag.  Yum!

I also attempted my first batch of kale chips before work.  While they tasted good, some of the smaller pieces were a bit overdone while the larger pieces stayed a bit chewy.  Next time = even pieces!

Even the overdone pieces were pretty tasty.  I sprinkled it with salt and a little garlic powder (cuz that’s how I roll) before baking.

Today was much more relaxing and I was fully motivated to hit the gym!  Pre-workout snack was just the right size!

I repeated Janetha’s circuit workout from Wednesday and added a new circuit courtesy of Jillian Michaels.  Each circuit was repeated 3 times.

  1. Hill climbers for 30 seconds
  2. 180-degree jumps for 30 seconds
  3. Jumping jacks for 30 seconds
  4. Jump squats for 30 seconds
  5. Scissor jumps for 30 seconds
  6. Burpees for 30 seconds

The last circuit did it.  Stick a fork in me!  Time to head home for crepes with hubby (well, protein pancakes with blueberries for me!).  I was on a roll today!  I had so much energy after breakfast that I cleaned our condo from top to bottom.  I can’t even explain how happy it  makes me to be in a home that’s as clean as mine is!

Dinner came with a little help from TJ’s!  I used their marsala wine simmer sauce:

I used turkey cutlets instead of chicken, added another package of fresh, sliced baby bellas and about 3 Tbsp of chives.  This will be repeated post haste!  Steve & I both loved it!

I’m sitting here sipping a cup of excellent green tea that my lovely friend, Pam, gave me from India.  I had to purchase a tea diffuser to enjoy it (since I never have loose-leaf tea), but I’m so glad that I can now.  It’s easily one of the best cups of green tea I’ve had:

In fact, I think it’s time for 1 more cup..

Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


