13
Jan
10

on the circuit bandwagon

Happy Hump Day!  I love that the week is already half over.  I’m looking forward to this weekend – Dana is coming down for the weekend so I’m hoping to squeeze in some quality girl time!

Last night’s dinner turned out very well.  I attempted curry for the first time and hubby was impressed with the results:

 Steve’s plate always looks a little different than mine.  He had his curry over white rice with broccoli.  I steamed a bag of Italian style veggies (and proceeded to pick out the lima beans, which I loathe!).  It was so tasty and had just the right level of spice.

Chicken Curry in a Hurry (Heidi’s version)

1 1/2 lb. chicken breasts, cut into 1″ pieces

Pam spray

 1 1/2 Tbsp curry powder

2 cloves crushed garlic

1/4 cup diced tomatoes

1 cup chicken broth

Spray pan with Pam and cook chicken until done (about 6-7 minutes). Add curry powder and toss to coat.  Remove from pan.  Add garlic and cook until soft.  Add tomatoes and chicken broth and simmer until thickened (I added 1 tsp flour mixed with water because it never thickened.. just cooked down).  Add chicken to broth mixture and serve over rice or, like I did, by itself.  Yum!

It was also a very filling dish!  This morning had another good workout in store.  I stole a circuit workout from Janetha!  Started with 20 minutes on the elliptical then completed this circuit:

circuit #1 (three times through):

move weight reps
barbell deadlift to bent over row 30# 15
bridge with dumbbell chest press 15# ea 15
step up+knee up w/ dumbbell hammer curl 10# ea 30 (15 each leg)

 circuit #2 (three times through):

move weight reps
elbow-to-knee crunches on bosu bodyweight 30 (15 each side)
jump-over-lunges on bosu bodyweight 30 (15 each side)
weighted stability ball wall squat-and-hold 20# ball 15 w/ 3 second hold when in “down” position

 circuit #3 (three times through):

move weight reps
squat to biceps curl to shoulder press (all while standing on bosu ball) 8# ea 15
barbell skull crushers to chest press 20# 15
burpees (inspired by HEAB.. ugh kill me) bodyweight 15

 circuit #4 (three times through):

move weight reps
hyperextension w/  alternating twist 10# plate 30 (15 each side)
reverse dumbbell flyes 8# ea 15
dumbbell pullover to crunch 8# db 15

Holy moly.. I was so exhausted, but I squeezed out another 15 minutes as a cooldown on the elliptical.  I checked out the Polar when I was done.  I actually hit 183 as my hightest BPM.  I don’t think I have ever seen that number on my watch!  In a 1 hour, 45 minute workout, I burned 822 calories, 50% fat and had an avg. HR of 132.  Nice!  Time to refuel..

I had a spinach egg white bowl with minced onion (from yesterday’s Sam’s trip, garlic powder and a bit of salt), 2 very cute clementines and a Flat Out wrap with Laughing Cow.  On top of my new obsession, flavored sparkling water, I am now stuffed!  Time to prep for the day, which includes a 9-hour shift at the gym tonight and a bit of cleaning before I go in!

See you soon!

Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


