12
Jan
10

Oh, my darlin..

It’s been a pretty fun day so far.  Then again, any day involving no work and trips to Sam’s and Trader Joe’s is destined to be good!

I had to pick up Daddy-o’s truck to take to Steve so I was treated to breakfast at my favorite joint – The Broken Egg – this morning.  Had my usual of blueberry pancakes (no butter & sugar-free syrup, of course) and a side of fresh fruit.  I was so excited to eat it that I forgot to take a picture.  I even had my camera for this occasion!  Shame on me!

I dropped the truck off to Steve and hit the gym for a brutal, but amazing workout.  I started with 45 minutes on the treadmill and killed 5.3 miles.  It was “pull” day so biceps and back were in for a beating!

  1. Cross body Hammer Curls with 10# dumbells: 10 reps each arm x 3
  2. Close grip Pulldown: 10 reps x 3 at 50#
  3. (NEW!) Lever incline row: 8 reps x 3 with 30# in plates
  4. Concentration Curls: 10 reps each arm x 2 at 30#
  5. Seated low row: 10 reps x 3 at 70#

I did some running and jumping jack intervals in between each exercise to keep my heart rate up and I felt amazing after I was finished.  Off to Sam’s Club..

My take-out box from Sam’s looked awesome.

Fresh pineapple, Gala apples, spinach and clementines, giant containers of chives and minced onion, 3-packs of Laughing Cow, frozen blueberries and herb-roasted turkey breast.  Oh my..

A trip to TJ’s was just as exciting, but I spent much less money 🙂

My weakness – light popcorn, plum tomatoes, canned salmon and Diet Hansen’s.  I’ve been feverishly looking at canned salmon recipes and plan to use it this weekend.  Hopefully, I can add a new, successful recipe to my arsenal!

I took some chicken breasts out for dinner, so I’m off to attempt Chicken Curry in a Hurry.  Apparently, Steve loved curried chicken in his younger days, so I’m giving it a whirl!  Again, I’m hoping to have a new, successful recipe instead of a cooking disaster story.  Wish me luck!

2 Responses to “Oh, my darlin..”


  1. 01/12/2010 at 6:12 PM

    wow, chicken curry sounds great – I wouldn’t even know where to begin!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


