26
Dec
09

It’s like being a kid!

No, it’s not really like that at all.  You know how, when you’re younger, Christmas takes FOREVER to arrive.  Then, it’s gone in the blink of an eye.  Nowadays, Christmas comes and goes before you can take a breath. 

Despite the haste, it was such an enjoyable weekend spent with family.  We had our traditional Christmas Eve dinner at my parents house with my aunt (mom’s sis) and uncle, Omah and Steve’s parents.  We had a smorgasbord to enjoy! 

Veggies, red pepper dip with crackers, pineapple and traditional stuffings, my own sweet potato casserole, broccoli casserole, collard greens, HG’s Kickin Cranberry Sauce and a huge Dad-carved turkey.  For dessert – cheesecake galore, triple layer pumpkin mousse pie, and fudgy brownies!  I was good, but I still felt like I needed to be rolled out of the house!  I think I ate my weight in collards! 

I’ve been doggy watching and had to hit the road soon after dinner.  We headed back to mom’s house for breakfast.  I attempted Overnight Steel Cut Oats (courtesy of my fave Food Network star, Alton Brown) to take and I must say I have not had a better bowl of oatmeal to date.  My mom usually makes scrambled eggs, fried bread, grits and a variety of cooked meats, so I made an egg white puff.  A few family members questioned my oatmeal and egg whites, which made me increasingly uncomfortable.  I love my family dearly, but I honestly want to scream when they question my eating habits.  I would LOVE to tell them that it’s the only way I can keep off the 30 lbs. that I worked so hard to lose, but hubby encourages me to simply ignore it – so I do.

After breakfast, it was gift time!  We always seem to create a mound of gifts, and we always agree to cut back the following year.  Sadly, we never do.  It was a big year for technology in our house – Uncle Ken became a “Mac Man:”

Omah got a new TV:

Dad got a new Blu-Ray and Norris helped us to open it all:

Steve & I were celebrating our first Christmas and we enjoyed every second of it!

We all went to dinner tonight (courtesy of Omah) at Aldo’s Ristorante.  Steve & I will be going back.  It was delicious!  We had to say our farewells to my aunt and uncle (another reason Christmas comes and goes to soon) since they will head back to GA tomorrow morning. 

On the brighter side, my Christmas continues tomorrow when Steve & I meet with Dana and Henry for lunch!  I haven’t seen her since the wedding and am so excited! 

Until tomorrow..

0 Responses to “It’s like being a kid!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


