13
Dec
09

Lazy weekend? Check!

There are not enough words to express how much I like a weekend consisting of 2 completely work-free days.  I believe it was a weekend that was well-balanced in laziness, productivity and fun – I’d say a good 2:1:2 ratio is appropriate for such a weekend. 

Yesterday started on the right foot when I slept in until 9:30, made a fabulous egg breakfast for the hubby and met my dear friend, Jennie, for a viewing on New Moon.  I was so glad that she wanted someone to see it with.  Lord knows, I would never be able to drag Steve there.  Call me crazy, but I prefer 2 hours of this  more than my husband..

I knew that a movie trip would involve a small, plain popcorn, so I went straight to the gym after the movie.  I got in an amazing leg workout along with 45 minutes of cardio and headed home to prepare a yummy meal for Steve.  It was the least I could do after leaving him home for a good part of the day.

On the menu?  Stuffed bell peppers with a nice side of carrots (for me, anyway).  They’re incredibly easy.

  • 2 large bell peppers, tops and seeds/ribs removed
  • 1 lb. ground turkey breast
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 can diced (low-sodium) tomatoes
  • White/Brown rice
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce
  • Shredded cheese (optional)

Brown turkey.  Add in onion, tomatoes, rice and sauce and cook another 5-10 minutes.  Meanwhile, cook peppers in preheated 350-degree oven for 10 minutes.   Remove them and stuff with the mixture.  Top with cheese if you so desire and bake another 5 minutes until cheese is nice and bubbly.

Looks a bit like this.  I only put cheese on Steve’s pepper.

I also mixed in some diced pepper that was left from my removing the “tops”.  Waste not, want not!  I had a big bowl of cinnamon carrots along with my pepper – super yummy and filling!

Today started a bit earlier – up at 7:45 to get to the gym when it opened.  I literally beat myself up today – 60 minutes of elliptical with an average HR of 142 and max HR of 163 and a bit of abs.  I convinced myself to take a weight-training break today.  I think my body will thank me, but not for a few days.  My legs are seriously hurting from yesterday’s beating.  I fear that I will not walk well tomorrow..

I got back from the gym to find Steve was STILL sleeping, so I finished up the Christmas cards and fixed him some crepes (protein pancakes for me) when he woke up.  I find that, no matter what kind of meal I fix, I end up making 2 versions of 1 dish to appease him.  Do you find that you have to feed 2 completely different tastes as well?  It’s only a bit of extra work, but I think it’s worth it to give my love a happy tummy!

Lunch was a Light Flat Out Wrap with leftovers – another amazing Recipezaar recipe that can be found here.  I just make the mixture and ignore the sour cream/guac/cheese.  It ends up being so saucy and tasty that it really needs nothing else.

It may not be the prettiest meal, but it sure does taste really incredible!  This is probably one of my favorite recipes because

  1. It’s so easy to make.
  2. It’s super healthy.
  3. It makes a lot of leftovers that actually taste better when they’re reheated!

I have intentions to get up early for the gym, so it’s bed time for this tired chick.  Night!

Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


