01
Dec
09

A rare night off

Wow!  I fell very far behind.  I am so glad this past weekend was a holiday one, however, because it brought many friends home. I love reunions!

It’s been an incredible couple of days!  I spent Friday night at Gordon Biersch catching up with everyone.  I had a yummy grilled chicken salad with artichoke hearts, feta and tomatoes – with dressing on the side, of course.  It was accompanied by a Bud Light.  A girl’s gotta indulge sometimes!  Sadly, I couldn’t socialize as long as I had wanted.  A pet-sitting job involving a diabetic dog required my attention.  No worries, though.  We spent a bit more time together this weekend.

Saturday was incredible!  I started the day with a killer leg workout and some cardio on the elliptical:

  1. Leg press: 10 reps at 70#; 10 reps at 90# x 2
  2. Split squats with 15# dumbells: 8 reps each leg x 3
  3. Seated leg curl: 8 reps at 70# x 3
  4. Standing calf raises with 20# dumbells: 20 reps x 3

My bootie hurt like crazy on Sunday!  I was so happy to spend the rest of the day relaxing with my hubby!  I so rarely get to see him with our crazy schedules.  I had planned to cook, but we ordered chinese instead.  For hubs?  Pork lo-mein.  For me?  Steamed chicken with mixed veggies.  I request no sauce or rice and use my own low-sodium soy sauce and a little sprinkle of garlic powder. 

Sunday morning was again spent in the gym with a bi/tri/cardio goal for the day.  It was brutal:

  1. Supersets of tricep cable pressdown: 10 reps at 70# x 2; 10 reps at 80# with cable bicep curls: 3 sets of “21s” with 40# 
  2. Supersets of tricep bench dips: 20 reps x 3 with concentrated dumbell curls: 10 reps with 12# x 3 on each arm
  3. Overhead tricep press: 10 reps at 35# x 3
  4. Bicep EZ bar curl: 10 reps with 30# x 3

I should mention that I have added sprints in between exercises on all of my weight training workouts.  I actually enjoy keeping my heart rate up during weight training and find that my calorie burn is much higher.  It’s a good accomplished feeling.

I needed a good workout to make up for the popcorn that was later eaten when we met our friends to see Ninja Assassin.  I must say, 2 minutes into the movie, I was ready to hit the ground running!  It was actually quite entertaining.  Well, the fight scenes were.  The story line? Not so much.

Since I had put off cooking Saturday night, I could no longer resist my hubby’s pleas for baked ziti!  It’s actually quite an easy recipe and he loves it! 

This is a 9×13 pan, and the missing piece was only his first helping!  Easy recipe – promise!

  • 1 box multigrain or whole wheat penne
  • 1 jar any spaghetti sauce
  • 1 lb. ground turkey
  • 1 small container of fat free ricotta
  • 1 package of shredded part-skim mozzarella

Cook pasta. Cook turkey.  Drain both.  Mix together with sauce and ricotta.  Pour into a casserole dish.  Top with mozzarella.  Bake in 350 degree oven until cheese is brown and bubbly, about 15 minutes.  Cut and enjoy!

My dinner looked a bit different – same turkey and sauce with leftover Turkey Day spinach and Shirataki noodles.  I absolutely love these noodles.  If you try them, don’t expect a pasta-like consistency, but they give good texture and make me feel less guilty! 

I ate my “pasta” with the leftover Turkey Day fruit salad. 

Monday started exactly the same – with 1 1/2 hours of gym time, but I fueled up beforehand!  I made  a delicious spinach egg pillow with 2 slices of Low-Calorie whole wheat toast and sugar free apricot preserves.

Now that’s good workout fuel! Today, I focused on my back and did a good 40 minute elliptical cardio burn.

  1. Kneeling row: 8 reps with 30# x 3
  2. Close grip pulldown: 10 reps with 50# x 3
  3. Low row: 10 reps with 50#; 10 reps with 70# x 2
  4. Bent over lateral raise: 10 reps with 10# dumbells x 3

Right after my workout, I gave a new protein bar a try.  EAS Myoplex Lite Chocolate Chocolate Chip Crisp is  AMAZING!!  I could eat these things for every post-workout snack.  It’s about the closest thing to a chocolate bar I have found in any protein bar.  It’s not too shabby with 15g protein.

I had to return to Bally that night for work.  I swear, my manager has it in for me some nights!  I worked a 9-hour shift with no dinner break.  So my dinner was a protein shake to go and some grapes with a Clif Bar for snacking on toward the end of my shift.  I tried the Carrot Cake brand.  These ridiculously yummy bars will eventually get me into trouble!  This one was like eating an actual slice of carrot cake!

All in all, a great weekend and start to the week.  I’m hoping that this week allows time for Christmas decorating and am super excited to be seeing the Rockettes on Thursday night! 

Until then, ta ta!

0 Responses to “A rare night off”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


