26
Apr
11

Blondies by a blondie

I am very forgetful.  About the only thing I can be relied on to always remember are the names of people and actors.  I can spout off useless pop culture trivia.

But I forget to turn lights off when I leave rooms (a terrible thing to admit this close to Earth Day). I forget to bring important documents when they are necessary.  I forget to return phone calls, emails or texts.  For this reason, I was blessed with the nickname “Blondie” by my dad.  Well, he named me that for my forgetfulness as well as my penchant for asking silly questions on occasion.

I may forget to turn those darned lights off (which used to cost me $.25 when I was growing up) but I won’t soon forget the taste of these delicious, gooey Blondies.  I might be forced to remind myself again soon, since my first batch has barely lasted 24 hours.

Chocolate Nut Blondies

Makes 25 (perfect bite) bars

1/3 C butter
1 C light brown sugar, packed
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 C all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 C dark chocolate chips (or any type of chocolate)
1/4 C chopped walnuts (or other nuts)
Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a 9×13 baking pan.  In a small saucepan, melt butter and brown sugar together until smooth.
Remove from heat and allow to cool.  Stir in eggs, one at a time, and vanilla.
In a small bowl, combine flour, baking soda and baking powder.  Add in sugar mixture and  stir until well incorporated.
 
Pour batter into prepared pan and smooth top.
Sprinkle chocolate chips and nuts over top.
Bake 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. 
Allow to cool completely before cutting into bars (they will still be gooey!).

Love at first bite, I promise! 

So is this “blondie” thing good or bad?  I dunno, you tell me..

4 Responses to “Blondies by a blondie”


  1. 04/26/2011 at 9:50 AM

    Those look just great. Did you remember to turn off the oven?:)

  2. 05/06/2011 at 4:01 PM

    Please oh please come on over and bring a batch of those blondies. We’re having roasted pork tenderloin and kale tonight and we’re in Virginia too! :-)
    Oh how I love blondies. Yet I have never made them. I think me and your recipe will need to spend some time together very soon.

  3. 01/11/2012 at 7:26 AM

    It’s good. So very, very good! These look DELICIOUS!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

