13
Apr
11

Chunky Apple Muffins

I’ve been baking alot recently.  Boredom is really bad for my coworkers & parents because, heaven knows, those treats will not stay in this house.  I definitely don’t need the temptation with California calling in a few months! 

Useful tip:  Keep the weights and kettlebells in view.  Keep the baked goods out of sight!

Did you think I was kidding?  I’ve loved having these on hand to do a quick 20-40 minute Exercise TV workout to start my day.  I’ve been trying to find the motivation to also work out in the evenings, but I really hate dealing with the after-work crowds (and accompanying body heat) at the gym.  Guess I’ve really got to get back into my 4:30am routine..

Back to the good stuff..

Chunky Apple Muffins

(adapted from King Arthur Flour

1 C whole wheat flour
1 C all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 Tbsp cinnamon
1/2 C butter, softened
1/2 C sugar
1/2 C light brown sugar, divided
1 egg, slightly beaten
1 C buttermilk
1 large or 2 small apples, peeled and chopped

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and line a 12-cup muffin tin with greased papers.

In a large bowl, whisk together flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.

In a separate bowl, cream butter for 1 minute. Add sugars and mix well.

Add in egg and mix well.

VERY slowly add buttermilk and mix just to combine.

Stir in flour until batter is moistened. Don't overmix.

Fold in apples.

Divide batter into baking cups and sprinkle with remaining brown sugar.

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until you get a clean toothpick.  Cool on a rack and enjoy!

 

These, according to the taste buds of myself and my mom, are the best apple muffins I have ever eaten!  I absolutely loved the texture of the apples after baking. 

Mom’s taste buds got 95% of them and my weights only lost about 5% of my attention for the morning.  A girl’s gotta take a break on occasion!

5 Responses to “Chunky Apple Muffins”


  1. 04/13/2011 at 9:53 AM

    Oh man. These look SUPERB. I love love love apple anything- and just bought a few apples to use in my own baking. I might try these! If I do, I’ll have to toss a few raisins in as well.

  2. 04/13/2011 at 11:10 AM

    Oh YUM~ chunky apples in muffins?! They look amazing.

  3. 04/21/2011 at 12:35 PM

    I love apple muffins!! Yours look great!

    • 05/16/2011 at 9:42 PM

      Hi,
      We are two peas in a pod with our cooking passion and fitness obsession:)!! I love your blog! Please check out my page, YOU have an award:):) I am starting a new linky party called “Fit and Fabulous Fridays”. Please “like” my facebook page for updates. I just created it to keep everyone posted. You have some great recipes to share!! http://www.ameessavorydish.blogspot.com. Happy cooking~


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

