06
Apr
11

Sweet & Soured

I made a beautiful cake last weekend – the first complicated, from-scratch recipe for a cake since my angel food cake almost a year ago.  Mom’s birthday is once again approaching and lemon cake is on the wish list.  Without any history to pull from, I went a-googling!  I came up with a recipe at Taste of Home and went to work.  The cake turned out beautifully (after much coaxing from the tube pan and the resulting dent), but the icing was such a disaster that I refused to display the iced result.

So now, it’s on to find a better icing recipe.  Can’t have a scratch made cake without scratch made icing.  That would be  a crime!  But for now, my version of Lemon Chiffon Cake..

Lemon Chiffon Cake

7 eggs, separated

1 1/2 C all purpose flour

1/2 C whole wheat pastry flour

1 1/2 C sugar

3 tsps baking powder

1 tsp salt

3/4 C water

1/2 C canola oil

grated zest of 1 lemon

2 tsps vanilla

1/2 tsp cream of tartar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Separate eggs and allow egg whites to stand in a large bowl for 30 minutes.  In another large bowl, combine flours, sugar, baking powder and salt. 

Whisk together egg yolks, water, oil, grated lemon zest and vanilla.  Add to dry ingredients and mix until well blended. 

Add cream of tartar to eggs and bit until soft peaks form.

Fold egg white mixture into batter.  Pour batter into an ungreased 10-inch tube pan and run a knife through the batter. 

Bake on lowest oven rack until golden brown, about an hour.  Remove from oven when golden brown and immediately invert to cool completely.

 

Run a knife around the edges of the pan before removing from pan (good luck with this..)

Once it’s out, trust me.. it tastes great.  I just can’t live with an ugly cake.  Attempt #2 will be happening soon!

1 Response to “Sweet & Soured”


  1. 04/11/2011 at 6:52 PM

    oh this cake is beautiful! Nice work!


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

