02
Mar
10

MixMyGranola & March

I love Mondays and monthly beginnings, but only when they start with invigorating gym sessions and a return to forgotten breakfast favorites.  Enter muesli (made at MixMyGranola), Greek yogurt, Flat Outs and egg puffs!  I had recently discovered the goodness of custard oats like these from yesterday’s breakfast -

 

 and had neglected a good, savory, pillowy egg puff.  Oh, how I missed this!

The muesli combo (which I appropriately named “Happy Hawaii”) has dried mango, dried papaya, chia seeds and muesli base and is a wonderful yogurt topping!  Inside that puff of yumminess hides a handful of spinach and some sliced mushrooms.  Mmm! I actually liked this muesli mix better than the Chappaqua Blueberry/Banana combo -

Eh, nevermind that. They all offer crunchy-sweet goodness to my yogurt!

But, back to that invigorating workout that I was talking about.  After yesterday’s ridiculous upper body routine, I was a little sore, but I’m in “sculpting mode”, so I hit my back again.

Sunday – Upper Body Transformation

  1. DB Shoulder Press – 2 sets of 10 with 20# DBs
  2. Bent-over DB lateral Raise – 2 sets of 10 with 10# DBs
  3. Reverse-grip Lat Pulldown – 2 sets of 10 at 50#
  4. 1-Arm DB Row – 2 sets of 10 on each side with 30# DB
  5. Straight-Arm Pulldown – 2 sets of 10 at 55#
  6. Incline Chest Press – 2 sets of 10 at 30#
  7. High-Pulley Cable Crossovers – 2 sets of 10 at 40#
  8. Overhead DB Tricep Extension - 2 sets of 10 with 20# DB
  9. Tricep Bench Dips – 2 sets of 10 with body weight
  10. Skullcrushers – 2 sets of 10 with 15# DBs
  11. Hammer Curls – 2 sets of 10 with 15# DBs
  12. Concentration Curls – 2 sets of 10 with a 15# DB 

Need I say that my ENTIRE upper body was sore today?!  DOMS in the house!  This entire workout plus 55 minutes of elliptical for warm up and cooldown cost me a very happy 982 calories!

Monday – Back

  1. Bent-over DB Rows – 2 sets of 10 with 25# DBs SUPERSET with
  2. Bicep Curls – 2 sets of 10 with 12# DBs
  3. Straight-Arm Pulldown – 2 sets of 10 at 50#
  4. Squat with Row (one of my new fave exercises – my quads burned!) – 3 sets of 10 at 60#, 70# and 80#, respectively
  5. Seated Row – 2 sets of 10 at 70#
  6. Back Extension – 2 sets of 15 at 45# and 50#, respectively

Another day of high calorie burns (929) in about 90 minutes.   I fear how my upper body will rebel tomorrow..

I am sure you have heard the saying “In like a lion, out like a lamb” and I am hoping to complete March workouts in the lion-like fashion only (with ample numbers of rest days thrown in).  The past few workouts have been incredibly challenging, but I feel so amazing when I am finished! I have been sitting at the same number on the scale for so many months now so I’ve changed my goals up just a little bit:

  1. Decrease body fat
  2. Increase muscle % and definition

I know, these sound like the goals that I should have had all along but, unfortunately, I had been so focused on that stupid scale number that I forgot to really analyze how I felt in my skin, despite that number.  I feel pretty good, but I know that I can feel just a bit better.  I am talking to a few trainers at the gym where I work and some have excellent ideas for my new goals.  I am excited to start working on those goals this month and know they will push me out of the blah “weight state” that I’ve been in.

Thanks in part to Susan, I’ve got some other new ones of my own!

  1. Eat less fruit – Say what?!  Yes, I eat a ton of fruit and I eat a lot of it in the late afternoon.  Take last night’s dinner for example: Check out how much fruit I am eating compared to my protein!  I mostly eat grapes and apples and I have noticed that my digestive system isn’t liking it so much.  I think I go WAY past my daily required amount, so I’m cutting back to incorporate more protein-heavy snacks throughout the afternoons (especially at work).
  2. Change up the workouts – Every workout in the past few months has started with the elliptical, and ended with a stint on the crosstrainer or the bike.  Since I will be working on muscle definition, I would like to start more gym sessions with my weight training (with a BRIEF warmup) and follow with a long cardio time using a variety of equipment (gotta keep the body guessing, right?!). 
  3. New Activities – With my work schedule, the time that hubby and I spend together is usually done catching up on the DVR, going to movies or (sadly) cleaning our condo.  There’s a rock climbing gym that I recently discovered nearby and a flight-simulation hangar.  I’d like to check out both spots this month and find some new activities to do with my love.  If the weather warms up, I would also LOVE to take some boardwalk and beach strolls on the weekends.  I’m aiming high on this one!

I’d say that’s a pretty achievable list for this month with some pretty important changes that could affect my own psyche and my relationship with hubs.  Good things are in the works!  Have you made any goals for this month?  I’d love to hear about them!

PS: Lara is having an awesome giveaway and if you are in need of a food scale (something that was crucial to my own weight loss), this one is for you!  Head over here and enter!

Lori is also giving away something amazing – Attune Chocolate bars, but I really beg you not to enter here, because I want to win!!

AND Jolene is having a CSN giveaway over at Everyday Foodie.  Again, don’t be too tempted to go enter.. I want to win :)

3 Responses to “MixMyGranola & March”


  1. 03/03/2010 at 4:58 PM

    Oooh, that egg puff looks fab!! It’s been a while since I’ve had one. Love your goals. Especially the eat less fruit. I used to easily eat 3-5 large servings a day, but I’ve since scaled back to 1-2, and that’s including the half banana I eat before the gym every morning. It’s just so hard because fruit is SO delicious and so easy as a quick snack! Now I’m all about the cheese and deli meats, and much to my office-mate’s chagrin, boiled eggs ;)

  2. 03/03/2010 at 9:43 PM

    That is a *nice* lifting routine! Yay!

    I love fruit so much as well. I usually have 3 to 4 servings a day.


Leave a Reply

Hi Ya’ll!

Hiya! I'm Heidi, a 28-year-old "retired" student living in Virginia. I am a newlywed and currently on the hunt for a full-time job that will use either my Biology or Secondary Education degree. In the meantime, I work in retail and at an event venue part-time. When I'm not working, I love to kill hours at the gym, scrapbook, and act as a domesticated diva to keep my hubby happy!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

